Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

Pick Up Your Suitcase Wussy!

leave a comment »

The office building I work at is surround by hotels. There’s at least six that I know of for sure, maybe more. Every direction you look is a hotel, there’s a lot of hotels is what I’m overstating here. Again, it’s a haven for hotels. So sufficed to say I see a lot of travelers, coming and going, checking in and checking out, living the hotel life.

In these masses of people a few stand out more than others. Those would consist of the ones who have suitcases with wheels on them. I notice them because they drive me crazy, they look ridiculous and most of the time are only walking ten to twenty feet to their car.

I’m not talking about the suitcases that are huge and really do benefit from having wheels because they would be awkward or hard to carry. Nor am I talking about small, old, skeleton thin or weak looking people that appear as though carrying more than five pounds would be a struggle that could cost them their lives.

I’m talking about the able bodies, healthy looking folks that are wheeling a suitcase that’s smaller than an average purse or laptop brief case. It’s so small that it actually struggles to roll properly and the owner actually slow themselves down trying to roll this tiny bag around the parking lot. I’ve even seen them walking out of the lobby carrying it and once they get outside, (still holding it mind you) pull the handle out and bend over, (BEND OVER!) to set it down to start rolling it.

It’s so incredible silly, because as I stated earlier they’re only traveling a short distance. In the time it takes to stop and prepare the tiny bag, they could have been in their car driving away. Instead they want to go out of their way to make their life easier. Which I guess is not uncommon for us humans.

Like a panhandler will spend all day wandering the streets, working on their sympathy inducing, heart string pulling sob story that will get you to crack open your wallet, a person really wonders, as an observer, why would someone go to so much trouble for so little reward?

You could argue they use the wheels simply because this feature is offered on the model they bought. Well the speedometer on my car says 140 mph, but I know I never have or will be driving 140 mph. Just because it’s there, doesn’t mean you have to use it. Especially if it doesn’t make any sense to do so.

So do me a favor and pick up your wallet sized suitcase and stop being so lazy.

Egg On,

Ramblin’ Rooster

Pages: 1 2

Written by Ramblin' Rooster

September 14, 2008 at 3:29 am

Posted in Humor

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

