Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

Please Ruin It For Me

leave a comment »

What is about people that makes it so they want to ruin everything for everybody? One bad apple ruins the bunch, so does one bad person ruin the world?

First off is jokes. Most jokes come via e-mail these days. I can even remember the last time someone actually asked me, “Do you want to hear a joke?” You get the same handful of jokes e-mailed to you every couple of months. Are they in rotation? Is there an e-mail joke office that keeps revising the set ups to fit the worn-out punchlines. Sure, you have an occasional shining joke that dares to break the mold or venture into originality, but let’s face it, they’re few and far between.

The one reoccurring problem with all e-mail jokes is the first line or worse, the subject line. Often times the line is repeated several times, by multiple recipients, depending on the number of “forwards” and where on the rotation you receive the joke. That line is along the lines of, “This is hilarious! This SO good!” Nothing kills “funny” faster than being told how funny something is. If you tell someone you’re going to “laugh so hard” or “spit milk through your nose” upon hearing a joke, human nature tends to automatically try to defy the fate to which is being forced on them. People just don’t like being told what to do, period. Doesn’t matter who, what, when, where or why.

The same goes for movies. When Napoleon Dynamite came out, I had a friend that spent several days telling me, at three minutes intervals, how funny and hysterical the movie was. He then made an executive to take it to the next level by telling me the whole movie from start to finish. Now I have to contradict myself, nothing kills “funny” faster than someone telling you the punchline before you hear the joke.

Is there a remedy for what I fear is to become an epidemic? I hear people around me, all the time, explaining movies to people all the time. My mother is one of the biggest culprits I know. She’ll ask me if I’ve seen a movie and if make the mistake of saying, “No” I fall subject to the equivalent of being read the script. My favorite part is when she finally gets to the end, she stops herself and says, “I won’t tell you the end, because I don’t want to ruin it for you.” Hey thanks! Save me the $12 and just let me know what happens. No point in wasting the money now just to catch the last scene.

If you want to be funny, let nature take it’s course. Don’t tell me you’re funny, how funny something is or how much I’ll it. How will you be able to tell? You can’t, so save yourself the breath and me the headache. No one can be funny all the time and no two people will find humor in the same thing, in the same way. 

You want to hear a joke? It’s frickin’ hilarious and you’re gonna laugh so hard. What do you call sex outside of marriage? SINsational.

See what I mean?

Egg On,

Ramblin’ Rooster

Written by Ramblin' Rooster

October 5, 2008 at 5:58 am

Leave a Reply

