Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

Why Do We Do The Things We Do?

leave a comment »

I’m sure everyone in this world has experienced a “blah” day. No doubt everyone has also had the feeling of not wanting to do something that they’re suppose to be doing or should be doing. What I want to know is why do we do anything?

The first, and most obvious reason is necessity. Nothing in life is free, so they say, which is a pretty good motivation for doing something. If houses, cars, cable, cell phones, utilities, food and entertainment were free, would anyone go to work? I’m going to guess no and those few who did, would probably get beat up.

The second thing that comes to mind is boredom. If you don’t know what this is, it’s a terminal illness that has infected every human on the planet. Eventually everyone becomes overwhelmed by the disease and are bored to death. Boredom has created a lot of cultural pastimes, customs, games, and all around, short lived, general entertainment. Very few people can sit around and do nothing before insanity takes over. One might even argue that boredom has given more to the world and society than taken away. So let’s all raise our glasses to boredom.

Thirdly, behavior is often times nothing more than habitual, involuntary response. If you don’t believe me, try stopping someone that is performing some mundane task and ask them why they are doing it. They’ll give you a snotty response that will be nothing more than the question reiterated into a statement. For example, “Why are you sweeping the porch?” “So it’s swept off.” Don’t let them get away with it. Push the envelope, struggle, fight and philosophize over it until the person spits on you. People are much like sheep, but that doesn’t give you the right to date them, (you know who you are).

This is all leading up to the two biggest “whys” of them all. Washing your car and mowing the lawn. Why do we do it? If God wanted me to wash my car he wouldn’t have created rain and cutting something that grows back, over and over is the definition of insane. Until about a month ago, I had never washed my car, ever. Then one weekend I decided I’d give it a try. I washed, dried and waxed my car from top to bottom. The next day it looked like I just pulled it out of storage. Lesson learned, won’t be doing that again. Mowing the lawn makes me want to jump under the mower. Thankfully they have that neat release handle that prevents me from getting under there in time, (if only my arms were longer). If it wasn’t for the wife, I’d either pave my entire yard, or cover it in sand or as I like to think of it the world’s largest kitty litter box. I like a clean car and I can appreciate a beautiful lawn. I also know that I am not one that will dedicate the time or effort to make either one of those things a reality in my life. I’d also like to pitch in the 2009 World Series, but some things just don’t come to pass.

I know what you’re asking yourself… why do I write this blog? Simple, it’s a habitual necessity that stems from boredom. I also have a lot of free time created by a filthy car and ten foot tall “grass garden” out front.

Egg On,

Ramblin’ Rooster

Written by Ramblin' Rooster

October 10, 2008 at 3:41 am

Leave a Reply

