Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

Comic Books Turned Me Gay

with 8 comments

For the sake of understanding, just in case you don’t know, these are the key elements to this blog:

‘The Boys’ – a current running comic book, written by Garth Ennis and Illustrated by Darick Robertson.

‘Girls’ – a 24 issues series by Jonathon and Joshua Luna that concluded in April 2007.

TPB – a Trade PaperBack, a collection of previously published comic books distributed in a softcover book.

Now that we got that out of the way, let’s get to it.

I love comic books. No, I don’t live in my mother’s basement and yes, I do have full time employment. I just love comic books. I don’t really know why. I like art, writing and crazy characters/stories. There are a lot of talented people working in comics and it when it’s done well, it’s great entertainment. Expensive, but entertaining all the same. I read a lot of comics, so therefore I’m always on the lookout for new material. I’ve been reading ‘The Boys’ since the beginning. I liked it, so I tried to turn one of my non-comic book geek friends on to it by buying him the volume one TPB. He liked it as well and I had to buy him volume two and three, (when 3 came out). How did he get me to buy his TPB’s? I don’t know, but you’re right, it’s ridiculous.

A while back, another friend, a comic book geek friend, told me to check out ‘Ultra’, the Luna Brothers first title. I read it and thought it was pretty cool. So one day, while at the comic book shop, I noticed all four ‘Girls’ TPB on the shelf. I picked up volume one and started reading it. I couldn’t put it down. Eight pages into it, I decided to just buy it. I took it home, sat down and went cover to cover in no time. I liked it so much that I wanted to track down the original issues. I found the whole series for sale on some auction site for cheap, 73 cents an issue, including shipping, (for those of you who don’t know, cover price on a new comic is $2.99 or higher. Once it goes to back issue, two weeks or older it’s $3.50 or higher). So I was excited, but of course the bids kept coming and eventually the price got high. My comic book shop was having a sale, so I called and asked what the remaining three TPB’sI needed would cost. $32, (roughly) which was what the auction was getting close to. I made an impulse decision and told him to put them in my bag, (hold them for me) and I’d buy them next time I was in. Ironically, the bidding stopped and I won the original 24 issues for less than $32.

So I called the comic book shop back to tell him I couldn’t buy the TPB’s. Then I remembered my non-comic book geek friend who wanted volume three of ‘The Boys’.

So, I actually called up the store and said to the owner… “I don’t want ‘Girls’, I want ‘The Boys'”.

Maybe I should move in with my mother. Too bad she doesn’t have a basement.

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. lol…you better stop reading those comics!

    recu

    October 18, 2008 at 1:39 pm

  2. haha

    bentcrude

    October 18, 2008 at 3:56 pm

  3. recu, I wish I could. I don’t want to get into a debate of nature over nurture, but I think some people are just born to reads comics.
    Thanks for dropping a line…

    Ramblin' Rooster

    October 19, 2008 at 4:35 am

  4. bentcrude, the problem with the written word is that sarcasm is often lost, so a person could take your comment either way. I choose to think it’s haha funny, not haha you’re stupid. So thanks.

    Ramblin' Rooster

    October 19, 2008 at 4:38 am

  5. Excellent blog! Interesting article and very informative! I will necessarily subscribe for this blog.

    BiilYBonnYU

    November 12, 2008 at 8:23 pm

  6. BiilYBonnYU thanks for the kind words.

    Ramblin' Rooster

    November 13, 2008 at 5:49 am

  7. Awesome BlogI’m a bit of a late bloomer when it comes to reading comics.

    John

    February 17, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    • John, but apparently not to selling them! Captain America: Reborn should have been called Still-Born!

      Ramblin' Rooster

      February 22, 2010 at 4:09 am


Leave a Reply

