Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

Have I Become Star Struck?

leave a comment »

As you may or may not know, I’m kind of a celebrity hater. I don’t actually hate the celebrities, just the fact that there is such culture as “celebrity”. It could be I’m jealous. I’ve broken up with lots of girls, (or vice versa) and it was never on the news. I’ve flipped the bird to cameras before, but have never seen the pictures on the cover of a tabloid magazine. I’ve always thought people were people. Why should I care about strange, millionaires living thousands of miles away? So I was taken back when I felt the urge to become a weirdo, just like so many others grabbing at the coat tails of celebrities.

I just got done reading ‘Sentences: The Life of MF Grimm’, (an autobiography) written by Percy Carey, art and cover by Ronald Wimberly. I was blown away. This is one of the most interesting stories I have ever read. I won’t “retell” the story, but to understand a little of where I’m coming from, the highlights of the book are: Kid from New York-Appears on Sesame Street-Almost signs recording contract as rapper-Gets shot, becomes paralyzed-Sells drugs, goes to prison… OK I’ll stop there.

The part where I become confused is the feeling I got after I read it. I wanted to write a fan letter. A FAN LETTER, for cryin’ in the night! What’s wrong with me? This is how the letter went in my head:

Dear Mr. Carey,

I’m sure all psycho fan letters start out with the same line. “I’ve never written a letter like this before”, but in this case it’s true. I’d imagine that is always the second line in a psycho fan letter. Anyway, I read your book and I enjoyed it immensely, but I don’t have to tell you that. I doubt you or anyone else would have released it, if it were a piece of crap.

It goes on for a bit, but I’ll spare you. It was going to end with some kind of funny line that said if he was ever in the neighborhood to “drop by”. WTF is wrong with me? I’ve become everything I fear and hate! I love how I assume that the voice who wrote the story is the voice that makes the man. I’m sure he’d love to come hang out with me, who wouldn’t? I love how I naturally assume he could care in the least bit what I have to say. I love the fact that I think I’m the only one writing him a letter, as if he’s waiting around the mailbox, eagerly awaiting the arrival of the postal carrier in hopes that today’s the day a letter comes.

I just thought it was crazy that I could have been so swept up by his book. I just wanted to hear more stories, more details, more craziness.

Because to me that’s all life is. Sitting in my lawn chair, watching the world go by in a crazy parade.

Hey Percy, do read my blog?

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

Written by Ramblin' Rooster

October 21, 2008 at 3:19 am

Leave a Reply

