Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

What Do You People Want?

with 4 comments

I would say the easiest and most often asked question is some form of, “What do you want”. What do you want to eatbore, what do you want to do, what are you doing tonight/tomorrow, what are you going to do, etc. Yet, it seems to be the most difficult to answer.

I can’t tell you how many times, the family and I have had the conversation, “What do want to eat?” You know the routine… I ask the wife, “What do you want to eat?” She replies, “I don’t care.” I suggest such and such, she replies, “Nah…” I suggest something or other, she replies, “That doesn’t sound good.” I suggest whatchamacallit, she replies, “We had that Thursday.” Even though I’m use to this conversation, it still never stops me from thinking to myself, “I thought you said you didn’t care.” (In case you’re wondering, neither the wife nor I are gourmet chefs and we don’t cook a lot either).

The same sort of thing seemed to happen back when I was single, hanging out with my regular friends. We’d get together and without a doubt the question would always come up, “You wanna do anything tonight?” “Like what?” “I don’t know, something…” Now, we’d usually find something to occupy our time, even if was going to the bar, but settling for a mundane activity isn’t synonymous with doing what you really want to do. Why is that? It’s because you don’t know what you want. Not really.

If you ask people what they’d do if they had money and didn’t have to work, a lot of people will tell you, “I’d travel.” Honestly, what’s stopping them from traveling right now? Do they not have vacation time where they work? Are they wanting to vacation on the moon, is that why they can’t afford it? I think that’s just a standard answer that people have copied down in their subconscious over the decades. It seems like it’s something people should do, so they think they want to do it. They’ve heard it so often that they think it’s their own idea.

How often have you sat in front of the TV with nothing on, flipping through channels, watching re-runs of shows you’ve seen before? Shows that you don’t even like. People are so desperate to find something to fill their time, that they do just about anything, (except important and much needed chores).

Why is it so difficult to admit that most of us lead very boring lives? The majority of us have a daily grind, a schedule to keep, and a standard routine. Yet we rack our brains trying to think of something exciting. Constantly feeling that we should be doing other things, more fun things, things we wish we’d do before we die, things we dream of if only we had more time. If given the opportunity, would you? I’ve always been of the mind, that it’d be great to retire, but time and time again I hear, see, read and witness countless people complaining after retirement, about how bored they are. As if they’re lost without someone telling them what to do. It seems insane to me!

I’m sure there’s lots of people that will tell me I’m full of crap, that they are the exception to the rule, that they are living life to the fullest and having the time of their lives. Congratulations, is all I will say. Deep inside, I think if they took a look at the reason behind why they did those things, they might find a shocking revelation, or maybe not.

What do you people want? What will make you happy? Please tell me so I can copy your answers.

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

Written by Ramblin' Rooster

October 24, 2008 at 5:04 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well to be honest. I’m looking for what people want as well. If you’ve found the answer do you mind to tell me please. Thanks.

    Willie

    October 24, 2008 at 6:10 am

  2. WoW!! What do people want? Well your right in all account’s in this piece. I know I do and dont want retirement. For both reasons. Boring and nothing to do and or have a great fun ole time. For now what I want to make me happy is for our President we go and vote on Nov. 4th is the right one. Otherwise, I’m pretty damn HAPPY.. REALLY.. Oh yea, and for the grammer Nazi stay out of other people business like mine. He is REALLY starting to CREEP me out. til l8er

    wavemaker2

    October 24, 2008 at 6:18 pm

  3. Willie if I had the answer I’d give it to the world, but sadly I am as lost as you. Even if I knew the answer, knowing how people are, it’d be wrong tomorrow. Sorry I couldn’t help, but I appreciate your two cents.

    Ramblin' Rooster

    October 25, 2008 at 4:30 am

  4. wavemaker2, you’re not the exception to the rule, are you? Presidents can’t make you happy, only the puppet master can make you happy. If you’re felling blue, all you have to do is pull the string! Who is this Grammar Nazi???

    Ramblin' Rooster

    October 25, 2008 at 4:35 am


Leave a Reply

