Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

The Less Fortunate Make Me Happy

leave a comment »

For those of you who don’t know me, which I guess would be anyone reading this, I’ve been known to throw myself an occasional “pity party”. I’ve sat on “the pot” and neither shat nor got off. You might catch me on a certain day where I’m felling sorry for myself.

I’ve always been the type of person that keeps to myself, especially when it comes to vocalizing my “problems”. I’m not the person that will tell you about my sister being in jail, or my cousin’s baby that was born addicted to crack, or my uncle’s struggle with testicular cancer. I’d be the quite guy in the back that you’d never even notice was there. On the rare moment of needing to “express” myself or vent my problems, I might choose a friend to punish with my baby-boo-hoo rant. When I finish with my tirade, the following response is usually given to me, (I’m paraphrasing) “Well at least your life doesn’t suck as much as someone else who’s less fortunate than you”.

I’ve never understood this logic. I get the fact that it’s basically trying to enlighten you to the fact that things could be much worse and you should be happy for what you have, but it seems evil to use the downtrodden to pull yourself up. People use it for everything, in any situation, for any circumstance.

“Gosh, I can’t be believe my boyfriend cheated on me!” “Well at least you had a boyfriend.”

“Can you believe I lost my job!” “Well at least you’re strong enough to look for another job”

“My steak is cold and is raw in the middle!” “Well just think of all the people in the world who have never had food to eat.”

Then there are those who throw out random ones:

“I can’t believe I got into an accident with my new car!” “Right now, somebody, somewhere is sleeping under a bridge because they’re homeless.”

It never stops. Can’t someone feel bad about something anymore? Even if it’s just for a moment? Yeah, there’s a lot of poverty in the world. There’s injustice, unfairness, bad luck, dark karma and tragedy, but can’t I be mad that I stubbed my toe? “You should be happy that you have all your toes and can feel pain in your appendages.”

It just seems creepy to be sad and depressed, then think of horrible things that are happening to other people and be inspired to be happy again. I know I need to be thankful for what I have, but I don’t think the misfortune of others should make you chipper. If anything, it should give you the opposite reaction. Being reminded of how vane you are isn’t a good feeling or to be shown how much we take for granted. You’d think having someone put things in perspective like that for you, would almost make you mute.

On the flip side, can I not enjoy the things I’ve earned? Can I like the level of achievement I’ve reached? I don’t feel like I gloat or hold it over any one’s head, nor do I judge those who have less than me. If I’m in a restaurant and I order a steak, well done and they bring me a rare steak, why can’t I complain? I know there are people in the world that don’t have hardly any food, but they’re not at the restaurant with me, nor did they work 50 hours this week and spend two hours worth of wages on a undercooked steak. Must I always take what I get, regardless of condition? If I buy a new dress shirt and it has no buttons, must I keep it because someone in the world is unemployed?

It does seem shallow and selfish, but I notice there are very few humble, grateful for what they have people walking around. They might have their moments of reflection and give thanks, but most don’t seem like they have time for it. Average people don’t really seem to care about caring.

Thanks for reading my blog. “At least you have a blog…”

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

Written by Ramblin' Rooster

October 29, 2008 at 4:46 am

Leave a Reply

