Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

Overpaying Phobia Ripoff Disease Syndrome

leave a comment »

For those of you keep track at home, here’s another inside scoop to the interworkings of Ramblin’ Rooster. I’m an average handyman. I like to think of myself as fairly intelligent and with a certain amount of aptitude. I’m not one who can fix anything and everything, but there’s a lot of things I can, or at least am willing to try, before calling someone and paying them to do it for me.

Do you suffer from OPRDS, (Overpaying Phobia Ripoff Disease Syndrome)? Me too! It’s not just about fixing things that break, it’s goes way beyond that.

First, my hot water heater stopped working recently. The pilot light wouldn’t stay lit. Being under warranty, I had to call the manufacturer before doing any work on it. They told me they would send me a new thermocouple, but I opted to just go buy one, (it was freezing this week and I needed hot water now!) “What do we want? Hot water! When do we want it? Every time we turn on the faucet!” To make a long story short, they ended up having to send me a gas valve, (or thermostat). I fixed it myself, the hot water is flowing and it cost me a total of one hour in labor, (including the thermocouple that didn’t need to be changed, but not counting the waiting for the tank to drain) and 37 cents for the stamp to send in my receipt for a refund on the thermocouple. I can’t even imagine how much it would have cost to have someone come out and fix it for me. To make things worse in that nightmarish scenario, the fix was the equivalent of changing a light bulb, (or six light bulbs with a couple of a wrenches).

Next, I bought the wife a new digital camera for our anniversary. We ended up doing zero shopping around, but rather just going to a store and picking the one she liked best. It was freakin’ expensive and the salesperson asked, “Are you planning on buying today?” “Yes,” I replied. “Well, Black Friday isn’t too far away and that camera’s going to be on sale, but if you buy it now and see it being sold for less anywhere else in the next 30 days, we’ll refund the difference, plus 10%.” WTF? I thought to myself. I no longer have to worry about overpaying because you’re telling me I’m overpaying? What a relief. Now I just have to spend the next 30 days combing every ad I can find, desperately looking for a cheaper price. How cool is that? That’s what I said.

Finally, I love fettuccine alfredo. With chicken, without, I couldn’t care less. “Give me a gigantic bowl of fettuccine alfredo and some bread sticks and I’ll be in hog heaven.” That was until I made fettuccine alfredo at home one night. For those of you who don’t know, the basic recipe for alfredo sauce is butter and milk. That’s right, butter and milk. Even die hard bachelorshave butter and milk in their refrigerator. Hell, crackheads have butter and milk in their fridge. Now then, you boil the noodles, melt the butter in milk, drain the pasta, put it back in the pan, sprinkle it with Parmesan cheese, then poor the butter-milk sauce over it, mix and serve. That’s worth $12 or more at a restaurant. How cool is that? That’s what I said.

The list goes on and on, but it just never stops being extremely frustrating. You as a consumer are in constant battle with yourself. Trying to think if it’s a “good buy” or a bad one, but never really knowing if you’re right or wrong. Most people just want whatever they’re in the market to buy, so they go and buy, (hey that’s me!). Which is probably one reason prices are what they are today. It seems like no matter how much research, looking around, comparison shopping or time you take to make a decision, as soon as you walk around the corner, there’s a sign for what you just bought that has it $20 dollars cheaper. Even though it’s only $20, it still burns you to the core.

Why couldn’t I be rich, so that the spending of money would be immaterial? “Oh, it’s $400 dollars for an oil change? OK, change it twice. I’ll be back in a hour.”

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

Written by Ramblin' Rooster

November 5, 2008 at 5:30 am

Leave a Reply

