Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

Gratuitous Gratuity

with 10 comments

To leave a tip or not leave a tip, that is the question. Whether it is nobler to suffer the humiliation of outrageous lack of fortune… or something like that.

I know that this is a very sensitive topic. Those who are in the profession, I’m sure have very strong feelings for tipping, but there are those who feel the opposite, (of course). Why do we have tipping, where did it come from and why does it seem to only be for the fancy food situation? I say fancy food, because it is not customary to tip in the drive-thru at Burger-Mart. I guess you’re suppose to tip bellhops, valets, taxi drivers and the like, but having never been exposed to that “lifestyle” I’m without the proper background. If you feel the need, please apply the following comments to those vocations as needed.

I think tipping should be abolished. It’s meaningless in value and only further complicates our social functioning. Tipping is solely based on percentage, therefore is void in merit because it is not a measure of quality or hard work. I know from time to time, one might say, “They didn’t bring me enough coffee, so I’m not going to tip very much” or something like that. Usually though, it never happens and most people pay out the 15 to 20% regardless of the experience.

I think people in the food industry should just be paid a straight wage. It’s really not fair to pay someone off a “total amount of check” percentage. If I go to “Mid-level dining world”, order a steak that costs $12.99, does the waiter/waitress work any harder bring me a steak that costs $25.99 from “Ultra-Supreme dining world”? No. So why should they get a bigger tip just because the food is a higher price? Perhaps if the wages were of a competitive market value, negating the need for tipping, the caliber of staff would rise and thus business volume, which would cover the higher cost of overhead.

America is eat-out crazy. We all love to do it. The market share is huge and it’s not going away. I think a restaurant that built a platform of “tipping is not allowed” would pack the house day and night. Who wouldn’t love being free of the angel-devil struggle on their shoulder every time the check arrived. “How much do I leave? Do I have the balls to stiff them? I’m not happy, but here’s extra money.” You already gouge us enough on drinks and appetizers, just let us pay for the meal and go.

Basically, it’s not fair for anyone. The rest of us working in offices and other crappy jobs are exempt from even the thought of being tipped. When’s the last time you tipped a cop, bus driver, fireman, baker, accountant or doctor? That’s right, never. It’s an outdated, old-fashioned custom that needs to be overcome. Let it go and let’s move on.

If you’d like to tip me for this blog, please use my pay-pal account. For all those in the food service reading this, please don’t spit in my food.

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

Written by Ramblin' Rooster

November 9, 2008 at 4:57 am

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Amen! Pay em all straight wages and make our lives easier and calculator free.

    thedomesticfringe

    November 9, 2008 at 5:10 am

  2. thedomesticfringe, what an odd, but yet intriguing name. You bring up a great point, the calculator. My wife actually carries a little card that lists what dollar amount to leave for 15 and 20%. Every time we eat out I have to ask her to “look up the tip”. Thanks for your comment.

    Ramblin' Rooster

    November 10, 2008 at 6:42 am

  3. What would be a good wage for server. 5 days a week i go and stand on my feet for eight hours or more and wait on people who are most of the time rude and not kind people in hopes of getting more than 10%(tip). I understand that we all have bills to pay but i struggle every month the pay mine but why should i make less than someone that sits behind a desk. I personal pride myself on having the highest check and tip average in my restaurant. Would you like to have a server that does nothing but take your order and not have a “dining experience”. I think that you couldn’t have a FAIR across the board wage!

  4. Nobreak work hard for my money, I’ve been waiting for you a long time. I’m glad to have some opposition. I don’t doubt that you work hard. I think your job would be very frustrating, (working with the general public sucks) and difficult. One could argue that the average person behind a desk is performing tasks that required specific training whereas a server is remedial work that could be done by anyone, but I won’t. I think being a good server demands a certain special talent. Not being familiar with restaurant infrastructure, I’m unaware of overhead versus profit and the margins in between, but I think a salary system that resembles an office setting could be devised, (as in annual raises, bonuses, commissions, etc.). I’d think, depending on where you live, a server would make between $10 to $25 an hour. Who knows… I appreciate your comments.

    Ramblin' Rooster

    November 15, 2008 at 5:18 am

  5. Thank you very much for understanding what I am saying! I appricate hearing from you. Thank you for explaining yourself better! have a great day

  6. Nobreak work hard for my money I’m thankful for people like you who want to speak out and be heard, who hear things that they don’t agree with and vocalize their thoughts/opinions. I hope you have a great everything and get the biggest tip of your life very soon.

    Ramblin' Rooster

    November 18, 2008 at 4:03 am

  7. you seem like a very interesting person and i like to listen to all opinions and then make a decision from there. Thanks for all you time and actually reading what i had to say!

  8. No break work hard for my money, no need to thank me. This is what it’s all about, a two way street of communication. I hope I can write something else that will make you want to comment again.

    Ramblin' Rooster

    November 23, 2008 at 5:29 am

  9. do you have an aim skype or yahoo?

  10. No break work hard for my money, I’m sorry I don’t.

    Ramblin' Rooster

    November 25, 2008 at 4:47 am


Leave a Reply

