Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

Animals vs. Humans: Who’s Better?

with 2 comments

I have often heard and sometimes even spouted the cliche, “Ignorance is bliss.” I’ve always had mixed feelings about this saying, because although its simplistic and poetic, (which I love) it also promotes something I hate, ignorance. I guess I don’t hate it, but I hate when people use it as an excuse to limit their responsibility. All of this of course is side tracking us from tonight’s topic though, so let’s get to it.

Other than a five year period in the middle of my life, a grace period if you will, I have always had, at the very least, one animal companion. I’ve had dogs, cats, fish, guinea pigs, birds, turtles, a snake, and a duck. Dogs, cats and the duck where/are all great pets. The duck was extremely messy, but more companionable than one might think.

It’s long been the general consensus that man is smarter than animal. I guess this is accepted because animals don’t drive cars, work in factories, or tail gate in parking lots. Another age old example is the opposable thumb and the use of tools, which have always been a big point of fact for superiority, (except for those damn monkeys). I think it comes down to the ability to speak a language that makes humans believe they are smarter/better than animals, (like jabbering on and on is a sign of higher intellegence).

I’m not one of those crazy animal owners that refers to my pets as “my children” nor would I spend thousands of dollars to prolong an animals life for another couple of months, (I’m sure I would if I had crazy money, but I’ll never call my pet my child.) I also don’t believe that animals feel love. I think that is solely a human device thought up for torturing the soul.

The thing I like most about animals is that they are above pettiness. OK, that’s a lie, they love to be pet, but the don’t ever seem to suffer from self-esteem issues, gambling problems or get arrested for drunk driving, (I know, it’s the opposable thumb thing, except for those damn monkeys). I think the sure fact of how lost humans are gives animals a slight edge. You could argue that we are more stupid just for being capable of creating a unimaginable wonderfulness and failing so miserable at it. Animals have nursed other animals outside their species and we have trouble talking to our neighbors. Animals don’t care what you look like, smell like, act like, believe in or think. They are oblivious to your bias, contempt, greed, perversion and mental state. They just want to eat, play, sleep and be stroked, (something I think we all can relate to).

So when it comes down to Animals vs Humans, Who’s Better? I have to go with animals. Of course that’s coming from a blabbering cock. What? 62 posts and this is my first cock joke, that’s better than good, it’s amazing.

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

Written by Ramblin' Rooster

November 11, 2008 at 3:49 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. as to love from animals, I would say advanced loyalty and even that can be swayed by someone close by eating a burger. But man VS animals, I don’t know, I have had many of the same pets only no ducks and more snakes. I would have to say, we gray mattered animals have kind of spoiled it for the environment, I think the animals treat their natural surroundings with way more respect than the animal with the highly developed brain…

    A.j.

    November 11, 2008 at 8:49 am

  2. A.j. you make a wonderful point. I have never seen an animal trashing the environment and your example about your beloved pet leaving you for someone eating a burger is funny. Good comments!

    Ramblin' Rooster

    November 12, 2008 at 5:00 am


Leave a Reply

