Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

If Given The Chance, Would You Stop Working?

with 2 comments

I imagine that somewhere out there, there’s a person who loves to work and/or loves what they do for a living. I’m basing this solely on the fact that I’ve seen it in movies. I personally have never met anyone like that. I’ve met one workaholic, but he was more of a person that needed to stay busy and had a lot of professional ambitious hobbies. Even he hated his “real job”.

It seems wherever I go it’s all the same. People just don’t want to work. You can see this trait in strangers by the total lack of enthusiasm they exhibit and you can see this trait in co-workers by their worn out, over used, unoriginal negative comments. Phrases like, “Is it 5 o’clock yet?” “Is it Friday yet?” “Is it time to go home yet.” etc.

Every time I hear someone utter any of these the phrases, or anything remotely similar, I won’t to put a bullet in a skull. I’m to the point that I don’t care who’s skull it is, mine of theirs, just as long as a bullet finds a skull. At least there would be something new to talk about. “Hey, did you hear? Frank got a bullet in the skull.”

Why doesn’t anyone want to do anything? Where did all the excitement go? I’m not a huge John Cougar fan, er.. I mean John Cougar Mellencamp fan, er.. I mean John Mellencamp fan or whatever the hell his name is, but I’ve never heard a more true lyric than the ‘Jack and Diane’ line, “Oh yeah, life goes on,
long after the thrill of livin’ is gone”.

That seems to be it though, everybody is done being thrilled. We’re all thrilled out, shocked out, and amazed out. So, everyone wants to retire. To do what I ask? If you’re bored with your life now, what would happen if you had nothing to do? You’d probably kill yourself.

The question is this. If you could walk away from working and do whatever you wanted, would you? I know a vast majority would scream out, “Hell Yes!” without even really thinking about it. I bet a majority of those that answered the question rashly, without thinking about it would be the same ones complaining at the bar about how they can’t stand being at home, about how bored they are and how they wished they still had a job.

Would you stop working if you could, would you spend everyday waking up asking yourself, “What am I going to do today?” Yeah, me too.

Misery loves company, but it loves working from 9 to 5 even more.

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

Written by Ramblin' Rooster

November 18, 2008 at 4:42 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve thought about this since I was a child.
    Once I was really thinking about it when I was walking around the local mall, a rare occasion by the way, and I freaked out a little and called up my friend. I asked him what he would do if he didn’t have to go to school or ever work. He said something about music and throwing house shows, but honestly. I don’t know. Work gives life something..It’s hard to imagine it without it. I’m not sure, it’s something to look into.
    Also, It’s a good thing the lottery is hard to win.

    sweatereater

    November 18, 2008 at 6:17 am

  2. sweatereater what’s your favorite material, cotton, wool, acrylic? Isn’t it sad that we need work? It just may be that it’s not the work that drives us crazy, just the type of work. I think it’s difficult for people to manage themsleves and work for themselves, (if it wasn’t everyone would own their own business/service). We need to be told what to do. Tasks and goals need to be set for us to meet/reach. Otherwise we just don’t know what to do with ourselves. The lottery isn’t hard to win, it’s impossbile, which is why I buy a ticket everyday. Thanks for comments.

    Ramblin' Rooster

    November 19, 2008 at 3:41 am


Leave a Reply

