Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

Routine vs. Random

leave a comment »

Which type best describes you? Take this short test to find out!

Do you like to have a schedule? Do you like knowing what’s going to happen next? Do you try to plan out your day, week or even month in advance? Do you like to follow the same routine everyday?

If you answered yes to all of these questions, you’re a “Type A” person.

Do you feel stress out or burdened by following a schedules? Do you like letting the wind take you? Are you living life by the seat of your pants? Do plans make you feel stifled? Do like everyday to be an adventure?

If you answered yes to all of these questions, you’re a “Type B” person.

What’s that? You didn’t answer all of the questions as “yes” on either of them? Well that’s weird, I guess you’re a “Type C” person and you can’t participate in this discussion.

The truth is, “Type A” people for some reason hang around “Type B” people. I think so it makes it easy for them to fight and ruin other people’s dinner at restaurants. Nothing like having a nice sit down dinner and get to listen to a couple argue of over what they’re going to do. “You never told me that!” “Yes I did, you just weren’t listening. You never listen to me.” “I like to know about these things in advance” “Well, I’m telling you now.” Blah, blah, blah… don’t you people ever stop? Try putting some food in those mouths!

What’s that? Oh, I guess that conversation is me and my wife. Sorry about that. I thought we were deconstructing anonymous strangers, my fault.

It’s true. The wife and I are complete opposites. She’s a planner and I’m a free-for-all-er. After years of arguments like the one above, I’ve learned this. Don’t make avocado ice cream, it’s disgusting. No, I’ve learned that both sides are hard work.

Planning everything is hard for obvious reasons. It is constant work, a daily grind, and a monotonous choir. It’s slow and grueling, but it makes the surprises of life minimal. It seems like the safe bet, but if you’re not of a certain discipline or mind set, don’t even attempt it. Once you go down that road, it’s hard to come back from.

Being a free spirit may seem like the easy road, but it’s not. Sure, up front it seems effortless, but just like planning; it’s a constant void that needs filling. The constant is of course the never ending question, “What to do now?” If you’re not creative, possess a lot of patience and are willing to encounter set backs daily, then don’t venture into the free spirit lifestyle. You won’t make it.

The question I have for you is this. Did I plan this blog or did I wing it?

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

Written by Ramblin' Rooster

November 24, 2008 at 6:39 am

Leave a Reply

