Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

Good Beat Still Needs Good Words, Right?

with 2 comments

My favorite kind of music doesn’t fit into one category or genre, but it does have one commonality. A good beat. No, scratch that, an awesome, ass shaking, make you want to leave your seat, beat is more like it.

Techno, Hip Hop, and some rock usually fill the bill, although Techno can get old fast in its monotonous structure. Just to make sure we’re clear, when I say Techno, I mean all that crap like house, club, street, grind or whatever other nonsense label they throw on it. I like Techno because its rarely vocal driven. So when I’m in the mood to groove, but don’t want to listen to signing, I turn to Techno. Rock is a difficult one for me. There’s just so much garbage out under the “rock” designation. It always has been that way, since its creation. For every decent rock band, there are fifty lame ones and for every great rock band, there are five hundred terrible ones. Most of the rock bands I like have incredible drummers. Without a solid, driving beat, I just can’t get into it. Hip Hop is the leader in groove beat deliverance. Again, to clarify, when I say Hip Hop I’m referring to funk, rap, gangsta rap, soul, or what have you. I’m sure there are a lot of music theorists out there that would love to tell me how wrong I am, but I can’t take the time to break them into separate categories man!

The only problem I have with Hip Hop, (most of the time) is the lyrical content, no, not the vulgarity or degradation of women, just the lack of substance. Don’t get me wrong, there’s a lot of bad poetry, (song lyrics) out there. I’m not trying to exclude the other offenders out there, but Hip Hop seems to have a very small window of subject matter in its popular titles.

Also, it’s so demanding. It always wants me to do something, whether it’s to shake, bounce, jump, get low, put me hands in the air, push, roll, shimmy, dance, slide, or covet other people’s possessions or body parts. It’s just a lot of pressure. I love listening to the music, but I just want to listen, not do a work out. The worst of all is the romantic ballad style songs. The “lines” that most of the world have a good laugh at, (crap like “if I told you, you had a nice body, would you hold it against me?”) is better than some of the lyrics in these songs.

Yet, in light of all this I still listen. Even when the lyrics make me cringe because they’re so horrible, I’m still groovin’ while I’m listening. In the same way people who complain about new movies with fancy CGI special effects cancel out the need for good stories, dialogue and acting, Hip Hop music doesn’t seem to be suffering from the decline of lyrical value. Even the crappiest of crappy Hip Hop songs usually have pretty cool beats.

So maybe it doesn’t matter what people say anymore… where’s that leave me and this damn blog?

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

Written by Ramblin' Rooster

November 30, 2008 at 4:29 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. kuoOPo Thanks for good post

    johnny

    December 29, 2008 at 4:42 pm


Leave a Reply

