Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

More Bad Luck!

leave a comment »

Get out your score cards ’cause this one’s a doozy. For those of you faithful readers, you’ll recall that not long ago I hit a Bambi’s mother in my new car, (to which I’ve only made ONE PAYMENT!). If you remember, give yourself 88 Ramblin’ Rooster points.

Three weeks went by and I finally got it back from the body shop. I must say, it was beautiful and it felt like I had a brand new car all over again. The only down side was the interior smelled like Bondo putty. I’m talking bad, real bad. That’s just being nitpicky, because they did a wonderful job and I was very excited to be back in the saddle again, (as they say). I wonder how much of my excitement came from getting out of my rental car that I hated. Again, doesn’t matter, because I had my baby back, my sweet baby, pumpkin, automobile lover. Yes, I love my car.

Now just hold on with the accusations of my vanity or materialism. I love my car for the reason that this is the first car I’ve ever owned that had air conditioning, a working gas gauge, all four hubcaps, a CD/Radio, uniform paint, all glass chip/crack free, and the best for last, I don’t feel scared to drive it consecutively for more than six hours or 500 miles, which ever comes first. So it’s not that I’m rear-ending you because I’m staring at myself in the visor mirror, I’m just relishing in the most luxury I’ve ever had. Jeez!

By the way, if you care, the total bill was a little over six thousand dollars. I think my neighbor said it best, “No wonder Santa Claus went lookin’ for Rudolph. Them reindeer can be expensive!”

Anyway, now it’s time for the bad luck part of the story. I had the car over the weekend, three days of paradise, and I still haven’t made the second payment yet. Last night we had a terrible storm, winds like a hurricane, rain, and debris hitting the house, thunder and lightning, the works. I woke up and went outside to go to work and guess what I saw. The stupid mobile basketball goal we have blew over and landed on top of my car, denting and scratching it. I’m telling you, that car is cursed. I can’t imagine what my next disaster will entail. I guess I should just be happy that it didn’t go through the windshield and rain inside the car all night. Chalk one up for optimism. What’s that? M-I-S-F-O-R-T-U-N-E doesn’t spell optimism? Well you could’ve fooled me.

So unless it’s the cause of my death, I’ll let you know the next accident that happens.

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

Written by Ramblin' Rooster

December 10, 2008 at 4:42 am

Leave a Reply

