Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

How To Deal With Being Average

with 2 comments

When did being average become a horrible thing? I lived for it when I was in high school. It’s all I wanted to be. That could explain why I never went anywhere or amounted to much, right mom?

It is true though, I’m a pretty average rooster. Average build, height, shoe size, income, and of course world appeal. I’m sure you can find at least twenty guys just like me standing at the bus stop downtown after midnight. Well maybe just nineteen, ’cause one of those would actually be the “real me”.

Although saying it out loud seems to make me want to refute it. I don’t want to be average. I want to be “special”. So that’s where the problem is. Somewhere between not caring about anything in high school and being a grown man, I’ve lost something or gained something I wish I hadn’t picked up, (please insert your own filthy joke here.)

I’m unique, just like the other 200 gazillion people on the planet. Which kind of makes us all average, right? Wrong! I have to be lacking something from those people who are lucky, (or unlucky) enough to grab the spotlight, regardless of how long it lasts. If  I wasn’t short that something I’d be in the spotlight too, right? Wrong! Spotlights are cast upon those who are entertaining and what’s entertaining changes more often that asking a child under five what they want for Christmas. There’s tons of examples and I’m sure you might even know a couple yourself, like Joyce in accounting or Frank who works at the video store, stupid people who got a hand up for no discernable reason. Perfect example is the ninety year old or the red neck trash that wins $200 million in the lottery. There’s no rhyme of reason to this crazy thing called “life”.

It all comes back to being average and why we all hate it so much. If given the choice of being average of below average, even say far below average, (like you couldn’t even see average from where you were) we’d all choose being average. If we see unfortunate things, injustices or hardships thrust upon others, there’s a brief moment in the back of our heads that says, “thank God that wasn’t me”. Perspective can be humbling and give us that second’s worth of gratefulness. It’s always a series of unfortunate events that makes OK with being average. Wasn’t that a book?

So if you’re average, don’t feel bad, you’re not alone and if you look hard enough you just might find someone more average than you to ease the pain.

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

Written by Ramblin' Rooster

December 24, 2008 at 5:19 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve had to deal with being “average” my whole life too….I’m afraid if I were to suddenly find that pot of gold….I would be stupid and get tons of surgeries to try to be an “exquisite specimen” of a woman….just so I would know what it was like to be something other than “average”.

    trishothinks

    May 5, 2010 at 1:24 am

    • trishothinks, average is a state of mind. Just like the idea of “soul mates” there’s someone out there who’ll find you to be exquisite just the way you are.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      May 11, 2010 at 3:08 am


Leave a Reply

