Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

Garbage Is Not Trash

leave a comment »

One man’s trash is another man’s treasure, a wonderful cliché.

 

The town I live in doesn’t provide polycarts, (just in case you don’t know – those plastic bins that people put trash in, maybe you’ve seen them used as recycling carts). You just place your bags at the curb. Pick up is twice a week, which is nice, (especially in the summer). Every night I walk my dogs through the neighborhood and on trash days I get to see what everyone is throwing away. It’s very depressing to see what some people just throw away. Sometimes I think I could fill an Olympic sized swimming pool with all the things that I hate seeing, “go to waste”. I’d probably bring more of it home, if it didn’t make my wife angry and I didn’t have a garage full of junk already.

 

I once came across a group of guys, five of them, who all lived in a house together and were all sanitation engineers. OK fine, they’re trash men, (or garbage men if you rather). Anyway, their house was full of treasures. Every room was full, piles up the ceiling with things you wouldn’t believe. I’m not talking about hub caps or old boots either, but real stuff that a lot of people would want. Items like: saxophones, guitars, lamps, furniture, appliances, electronics and so much more. No, this isn’t an info-mmercial. I’ll stop now.

I only wanted to say and make a point that people throw away a lot of good stuff. People by nature are very wasteful.

 

Many years ago I worked in the furniture business. Whenever I’d go out on delivery with new furniture, we’d always take away the people’s old furniture, (so they wouldn’t have to deal with trying to get rid of it on there own). On more than one occasion, the stuff that the customers would be getting rid of would be almost like new.

 

I’m not really a conservationist, by action, and I wouldn’t describe myself as being “green”, but I do hate to see waste and wastefulness. So maybe I don’t have a right to even say this, not being pro-active and all, but it makes me sad that this world doesn’t have a better method of recycling/trash disposal. I suppose it’s because there’s no money in it. Although every time I see those piles of trash, I can see dollar signs.

 

Whoops, I just broke my soap box. Guess I should throw it out.

 

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

Written by Ramblin' Rooster

December 29, 2008 at 6:25 am

Leave a Reply

