Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

End Of Vacation, End of My Happiness

leave a comment »

I’ve always lived in cold houses. Mainly because they’ve been old or drafty, but more recently it’s because of high ceilings and high prices of heating it. I’ve always hated huddling around space heaters because they just make me colder. As the part facing the heater warms, the part that is being ignored feels colder than it would have if no space heater was being used.

 

I only bring this up because my week and a half vacation is over tonight and its back to work tomorrow bright and early. It makes me wish that I never took vacation because I don’t realize how much I hate my job until I’m away from it for an extended amount of time. Three day weekends aren’t long enough to forget about the misery, but anything over five consecutive days makes the return almost impossible.

 

It’s not only the fact that I hate my job, but it’s that I can’t stand it. I know, I’m babbling and being repetitious. I can’t help it. This is the first time I’ve ever been able to save all of my vacation time till the end of the year to use all at once. It’s been incredible. I don’t even feel bad for wasting a majority of my time doing nothing. I didn’t know that going back would be so hard. I think I feel a tickle in the back of my throat. I might be coming down with something, (cough, cough).

 

Don’t try to give me the lecture that I need to find a different job, because I’m one of those morons that landed a job, stuck it out through the hard times, the desperate times and fought off the temptation to quit. What did I get in return? The ability to make myself valuable and slowly earned a pretty good salary, especially given the lack of my educational background. The flipside of course is the fact that all of this wonderful training has made me tailor made and trained for my current company, not their competitors. So believe me when I tell you, I’ve looked for other jobs, no one is dumb enough to give me what I’m getting from where I work now. Such is life…

 

OK, so why am I whining like a little baby to you? I just thought maybe you were on vacation too and it was about to end, then you’d be returning to your own private hell.

 

I just wanted to let you know you’re not alone.

 

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

Written by Ramblin' Rooster

December 31, 2008 at 4:29 am

Leave a Reply

