Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

New Year’s Eve

leave a comment »

The first New Year’s Eve I remember, I was a child. My family had gone to a friend of my mother’s house. At midnight they made everyone go outside and the kids all banged pots and pans together. At the time I really didn’t understand what we were doing or why we were doing it. Now that I’m no longer a spring chicken, the appeal of New Year’s Eve has even less of an appeal to me.

 

Why does everyone want to do something? Why does everyone feel like they HAVE to do something? Going out on New Year’s Eve is like going shopping on Wednesday before Thanksgiving. You might as well be burning your money.

 

I realize that New Year’s Eve might be fun and exciting if you have lots of friends, lots of money and young love to which you hope to impress by a lavish fiesta. I don’t have any of these things, so I can’t relate. Perhaps you’re just an alcoholic and like to gamble with your freedom by driving under the influence on the most highly patrolled night of the year. I’m not much of a drinker myself and I don’t like talking to cops, (when I’m being pulled over).

 

The need to go out, to be somewhere, to be doing something is just silly to me, but then again I’m an anti-social, hermit crab, living under the ground in a abandoned bomb shelter. I wonder how many of the people who “need” to get out and let loose suffer from cabin fever on a regular basis. Or is this the “one time” of the year they’ve earned/deserve to go out?

 

New Year’s Eve is a young person’s holiday. I usually stay up till midnight every night, but I’m pretty sluggish by eleven and certainly wouldn’t be any fun to be around. I’m not a party animal. I’m not even a party animal that has been domesticated. I’m just an old man who’s frugal and grumpy.

 

Now if you’ll excuse me, I gotta go, my limo is here and I’m gonna be late to the club.

 

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

Written by Ramblin' Rooster

January 1, 2009 at 4:18 am

Leave a Reply

