Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

Shortcut Mania Equals Shortcut To Hell

leave a comment »

As if you or anyone else needed more proof that I’m a premature, angry, elderly man I decide to provide you with the following. No need to thank me, consider it a New Year’s present.

 

Have you ever met someone who was shortcut crazy? Someone who looms over your shoulder at a computer and sighs or gasps with every key stroke you make? Me too and I can honestly say that if you feel at all like I do just drop me a line and you can join my lynch mob. We’ll be setting out to hang these people by their toes later this month.

 

I’ve always heard or been told time is money and fast is the pace of business, but is it really? I’ve never really worked in an office environment or professional environment that would “make or break” over a few added seconds. So you could understand why maybe I’m not interested in having a shortcut for everything that I do on a daily basis. Some days I need things to run a little long or I wouldn’t have anything to do. I’d be so efficient I’d make myself obsolete. That’s weird…

 

I understand that some of the shortcuts are really cool and can make your life easier, but why must I make everything a abbreviated version? I’ve been at people’s computers and asked them to open something or need to show the something and been amazed at the “old school” ways or prehistoric method they are using, but I don’t mind. I’m not in that big of a hurry to get back to my desk and I certainly don’t feel the need to belittle them or try to “correct” their behavior. Nothing makes friends faster than voluntarily becoming their technology tutor.

 

It’s great that you’ve changed your e-mail lists to where you can type one letter for each person you know. I’m amazed by the adjustments you made on the scroll wheel on your mouse. You blew my mind at the customized right click menu.

 

You know it’s not even about the fact that the shortcuts aren’t useful, it’s the attitude that people have about them. They always tell you about how much better or faster it would make things for you. As if you couldn’t live if you didn’t conform.

 

Having a shortcut doesn’t make you better than someone. It makes you lazier, (or smarter) depending on how you look at it.

 

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

Written by Ramblin' Rooster

January 2, 2009 at 4:36 am

Leave a Reply

