Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

Not Love Just Alliance

with 8 comments

I don’t believe in love.

Having added the period at the end of that sentence, it officially makes me a hypocrite, because I tell my family I love them all the time. I even drop the “L Word” on silly, insignificant things like, “I love that movie” or “I love caramel covered nut bars”.

Truth is, I still don’t believe in love, even though I use the word. I use the word because it’s accepted everywhere and it expresses the point I’m trying to make fast and with ease. Nobody is confused by saying, “I love you”. They might be confused if your actions don’t match your words, but I don’t remember ever hearing someone say, “They told me that they loved me. What do you think they meant by that?”

I think about love a lot. What does it mean, where does it come from, why is it here? I also think about it a lot when it comes to relationships, since 113% of pop culture is based on “boy meets girl” or “boy sleeps with girl’s cousin, while girl is sleeping with boy’s best friend”. It makes you wonder what’s going on with all of us. The divorce rate is outstandingly high, but yet some couples make it through the test of time, which leaves the rest of us wondering why and how.

This is why I don’t believe in love, I believe in alliances. That’s what makes relationships last. I don’t think it has to do with opposites attracting, things in common, similar backgrounds, identical political party affiliation, religious denomination, or economic standards. It’s all just an alliance you make with another person. It’s finding someone that you know has your back or your best interests at heart, (in the long run). They might hate your velvet Elvis painting, or forget your birthday or even make you feel stupid at a party in front of your friends, but that doesn’t mean they’re not on your side. It just means they’re human and humans are kind of insane. That’s why it’s so important to find one that you can form an alliance with, because it’s you against the world! I know, I know, easier said than done, but then again if you weren’t looking for love you might find an ally.

As far as love and your family, well you just have to love your family, especially your kids.

And puppies are quite loveable.

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

Written by Ramblin' Rooster

January 9, 2009 at 6:21 am

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You know, the meaning of the words is different from country to counrty and from man to man (latins said: not idem est si duo dicunt idem, that is: it’s not the same if two say the same); in english you use to say love in many junctures (you see: perhaps I use other words than you becouse english is not my language). In romanian we don’t say “I love chocolate nuts” or “I love that film”, we say “I like”, “I like a lot”, “I’m crazy about”, but not “I love”. Though english have the richest vocabulary in general, but also for defining feelings. On the other hand, the english and americans speak out the most directly, you use to begin with the burden (the plot? the motif? the fable?). Asians speak half an hour until they reach the motif, we, romanians are half the way.
    You are right: love is based on very many long run things and interrests. But is not simply an alliance; is based on interrests but on feelings too; not the childish feeling when you catter for nothing, nor simply phisical attraction, but don’t tell me you love your family the same way you love chacolate nuts.
    In fact, you know you joke.
    Best regards,
    Dan, Iasi, Romania,
    http://danmihalache.wordpress.com

    danmihalache

    January 9, 2009 at 6:57 am

    • damnihalache, international flavor? I love it! Awesome point/quote “it’s not the same if two say the same”. That’s so right. I guess my whole point was that typical Americans have lost the ability to express themsleves and the word love has lost its value and power. Perhaps you know of a certain international fastfood restaurant with the trademark of “I’m Lovin’ It”. I am glad to read that you are a die hard romantic. Keep the love in your heart strong and pure. Thanks for your comments, I loved reading them. Romania rocks!

      Ramblin' Rooster

      January 10, 2009 at 4:28 am

  2. It is a very interesting commentary in one of the lettres of Walter Bidlake onto Lucy Tantamount about the word “love” in different language, remember? And another super plot, the discussion with Philip Quarles about love: Walter took as an archetype Shelley’s poem Epipsychidion; but the bucket was too heavy and the well too deep, the clay too dirty…
    So, you are right, of course, love can’t survive in vacuum; it must be feed. But, what the hell should we do without it?

    danmihalache

    January 10, 2009 at 6:55 am

    • danmihalache, sorry I misspelled your name previously… it’s an honorable man to give reference… I guess I should read more than comic books, huh? What would we do without love? Live happy, long, lonely lives? I don’t know, except that I’m sure we’d come up with something to keep us preoccupied. Thanks for coming back for more.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      January 11, 2009 at 3:42 am

  3. Of course, in Point Counterpoint by Huxley.

    danmihalache

    January 10, 2009 at 7:04 am

  4. danmihalache, you’ve accomplished a comment hat trick, so I’m proud to say you’ve been awarded 88 Ramblin’ Rooster bucks. Thanks for sharing, commenting and of course expressing yourself. Which is within itself a reward that is unmeasurable.

    Ramblin' Rooster

    January 11, 2009 at 3:49 am

  5. danmihalache,thanks for sharing your story, its a nice post. keep it up

    Chris

    Dating Tips

    January 11, 2009 at 2:38 pm

  6. Thanks Chris… oh wait, you weren’t talking to me.

    Ramblin' Rooster

    January 12, 2009 at 4:10 am


Leave a Reply

