Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

Sleep Deprivation And You

leave a comment »

I heard from a friend who was told by a person that talked to a guy who knew a man who had read a book written by a doctor. In this book it said that sleep deprivation was bad. I for one believe him.

I’m usually not a well rested person in general. I’ve always been a night owl, but I must maintain a daytime, (or first shift) job. So what ends up happening is I stay up late and get up early. It doesn’t take a math wizard to figure out the time in between gives a minimal amount of hours to sleep.

Lately I’ve been more sleep deprived than usual, (because of the mandatory overtime I’ve been enduring). I’ve been amazed at how quickly my body and daily functioning was affected. Almost immediate I was tired, (of course) and then I was exhausted. There are times where I literally can’t keep my eyes open even if I’m in the middle of doing somethinnbk                            Sv2ew Whoops! Sorry, I dosed off there for a second. Secondly I started to get headaches. Third I noticed my joints started to hurt. Most of this discomfort I felt was in my feet, ankles and lower back. Next I started to feel nauseas for several hours at a time. Then came straight up confusion and “spacing off”, where I’d just kind of stop for a minute and become a zombie for a short spell. Sadness was starting to set in and I was questioning my life and thinking of all the regrets I had and poor decisions I’ve made, but it was quickly replaced with random contempt and a short fuse. There were times I felt as though I could have killed someone over the slightest provocation. This all happened over a week’s period.  The most amazing thing is that I was also adapting to it rather easily and rapidly. It wasn’t before too long that I had almost forgotten about how life was prior to this sleepless excursion. It was as if this was the “new” me and I felt fine about it. I don’t know, but I guess that this is very similar to going insane.

It made me wonder about all the “screwed up” people in the world and I thought, “I wonder how many people just really need a goodnights sleep.”

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

 

Written by Ramblin' Rooster

January 10, 2009 at 4:16 am

Leave a Reply

