Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

Desk Calendar Rip-Off

with 6 comments

I’ve never bought a calendar in my life. I guess I never wanted to know the future or cared about the immediate future enough. Whatever the reason, it doesn’t seem to matter because people love to give me calendars. My favorite is the life insurance salesman that sends me a calendar on my birthday. My birthday is in the end of November and the calendar is always for the current year, meaning it’s only good for less than forty days. How’s that for customer service!

 

I have now become quite the fan of the desk calendar. There’s something about knowing that each day you get to read a new page. It’s like a little present just waiting for you at work. Mondays’ are especially exciting because you get two pages, (having not been there over the weekend). The anticipation of waiting to see what tomorrow’s funny cartoon, caption of sweet affirmation is going to be is a big reason why I continue to go to work.

 

I seem like a big fan, so what’s my gripe?

 

For the most part, desks are associated with work and most people work away from their home so they don’t go into work over the weekend, I get it, but that doesn’t mean I don’t want separate pages for Saturday and Sunday. How can they possibly be so cheap as to rip me off all those treasured extra pages? To top it off, they put blank pages at the end of the calendar, as if to tease and mock me. WTF? What’s that for? Are they trying to fool someone in to thinking there’s more days in the year? “I was going to buy the Dilbert desk calendar, but then I noticed the Far Side desk calendar was thicker. It must be better!”

 

Please stop by the store on the way out and purchase your 2008 Ramblin’ Rooster desk calendar, marked down to 99% off.

 

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

Written by Ramblin' Rooster

January 14, 2009 at 2:04 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My son has his new one (Jeopardy) right next to his alarm clock, and enjoys filling in the answer each morning. Though I’m not sure associating it with waking up is any better than work.

    Davis

    January 14, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    • Davis, associating it with waking up is way better than work. Need a reason to get out of bed? New Jeopardy page!
      Thanks for commenting and sharing.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      January 14, 2009 at 2:31 pm

  2. those rip offs are so . . . rip-offy!

    Otto Mann

    January 14, 2009 at 2:21 pm

  3. One day, when we have a colony on a planet that is further from the sun than Earth, we will need those extra pages.

    thedailycrazy

    January 14, 2009 at 4:34 pm

    • thedailycrazy, thank you for making sense of it for me. I can now let go of my frustration. You’ve given me hope and peace. Thanks for your comment.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      January 15, 2009 at 4:11 am


Leave a Reply

