Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

Corduroy Pants?

leave a comment »

My son is very particular about his clothes. He can’t wear shirts that have a thick, heavy iron-on or patch, nor can they have stitching on the inside. He also won’t wear any material that “swishes”.

 

The other day I wore a pair of corduroy pants to work. I hadn’t worn this pair of pants in a very long time. While I was walking around I thought of my boy and how this would be driving him crazy. Then I thought about how bizarre corduroy pants are. They’re very loud. Even when I walk very slowly and kind of bow-legged, they still make noise. Then I think about how silly it is to be conscious of walking, or at least so focused on it. You should be able to just walk freely without being self-conscious of your thighs, right?

 

Corduroy pants, there’s nothing like them, is there? I’ve always associated corduroy as the tan jacket with the leather elbow patches worn by intellectuals. I don’t think I want to be a part of that scene, (I’m sure I couldn’t be even if I wanted too).

 

What’s the cut off age for corduroy pants? Is there one? How sad is it to be seen in them? Is it silly for a grown man to wear them? Is corduroy synonymous with nerdy? Do cool people wear corduroy? Do they make corduroy underwear?

 

Who can answer all of these difficult questions for me?

 

Ramblin’ Rooster

Written by Ramblin' Rooster

January 16, 2009 at 2:57 pm

Leave a Reply

