Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

Rental Agreement

with 2 comments

As you all don’t know, I’m quite the anally retentive loaner of my personal things. I’ve always been a big protect and baby my things kind of guy. I deny all allegations that this stems from a materialistic or shallow place, but rather I just like to keep my stuff in pristine condition. Quite simply, I take care of my crap.

 

I’ve always been horrified when I go to someone’s house and see piles of jacket less/case less CDs stacked in the corner. I cringe at greasy finger prints and scratches on DVD rentals. I shiver at people unplugging something from the wall or unit by yanking on the cord and I tense up when I see people swinging or twirling things by the cords.

 

Recently, my boss wanted to borrow some of my DVDs for the weekend. I felt hesitant to say yes, but after all, he is my boss and all. What better way to look “cool” or “down with it” than doing something I’d rather not that makes me very uncomfortable?

 

To make things better for me, I decide I’d draw up a rental agreement. A little something to sooth my worried mind. Much to my surprise, my boss actually got a big kick out of my “contract” and even helped me with the drafting of it in some places.

 

The following is a copy of that agreement. As always, to protect the innocent, the part of my boss will be played by none other than Mr. Smith, (all the way from Washington).

 

TERMS OF AGREEMENT

 

I, Mr. Smith, herein referred to as BORROWER; enter into the binding contract with Ramblin’ Rooster, herein referred to as OWNER, on this day, January 23, 2009.

This agreement is in conjunction with the lending/borrowing of the following items, herein referred to as MATERIAL:

The Office (DVD) Season One

The Office (DVD) Season Two

The Office (DVD) Season Three

The Office (DVD) Season Four

 

The BORROWER acknowledges and agrees with the following:

1.       All DVDs were taken into possession in Near Mint Condition, including, but not limited to;. DVDs, (discs) are free from scratches, fingerprints and residues, all original packaging is included and all cases are free from tears, scuffs, folds, bends and soiling of any kind

2.       All DVDs, (discs) will be handled by the outer most edges and the storage post receptacle, (inside hole) and never touched on the media storage area or in a manner that violates standard DVD, CD, Compact Disc care as found on any material labeled “Handling Instruction”.

3.       The BORROWER shall not wipe, clean or use solutions on any of the MATERIAL.

4.       The BORROWER shall not extend, loan or give the MATERIAL to any third parties.

5.       Sole responsibility falls upon the BORROWER for the end use of the MATERIAL and holds harmless the OWNER of any wrong doing as a result.

6.       Normal rental fees are waived by the OWNER, due to the BORROWER being the boss.

7.       The BORROWER will keep the MATERAL for no longer than two week, including weekends and holidays.

8.       Should the BORROWER violate any of the above provisions, the BORROWER agrees to replace the MATERIAL.

9.       MATERIAL subject to inspection before agreement is effective by the BORROWER and upon return of MATERIAL by the OWNER.

Perhaps it’s not that amusing. Be that as it may, I think everyone should develop a shrewd, business side for the purposes of lending their personal belongings to people. The world would be so professional.

 

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

Written by Ramblin' Rooster

January 27, 2009 at 4:57 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. If I were my obnoxious brother I would look at your rental agreement and snort “Everybody knows the British Office is better”. Lucky for you, Rooster!

    Michael

    January 27, 2009 at 7:06 pm

    • Michael, I do feel lucky! You know what they say, when in America… no, that’s not it. Buy American? I guess it just proves that my boss and I have no taste when it comes to rip off sitcoms. Thanks for your comment, (as always). It made me laugh.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      January 28, 2009 at 3:40 am


Leave a Reply

