Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

Depression Is Depressing

with 2 comments

I’ve been seeing a commercial a lot lately. Ironically it comes on most often late at night. I don’t know why television programmers believe that everyone watching TV past the hour of 11:30 PM is either the most gullible fool on the planet or that their life is in terrible jeopardy. Perhaps it’s based on some sort of fact or evidence, like a poll or survey. Perhaps it’s because early morning advertising time is half of what prime time advertising costs or maybe it has to do with magic fairies and pixie dust.

 

Anyway, this commercial I brought up an hour ago is about depression. The commercial goes something like, “Where does depression hurt? Everywhere. “Who does depression affect? Everyone.” Of course during all of this voice over stuff, you get to see people looking incredibly depressed. I’m not talking about, “Hey Bob, you look a little down”, we’re talking, “holy moly, I think I want to kill myself just by looking at you” depressed. Ironically I find the commercial to be very depressing. Why are they always whispering during the commercial?

 

There have been a lot of depression commercials over the years. As new medications are released, new waves of ad campaigns to sell them follow along. In all of these commercials they make depression out to be a very bad thing. I think one of them talked about, “we all feel blue from time to time, but if you shake it off…” WTF? If I can’t shake off my blueness, what, take some pills? What if my depression is the result of seeing my family murdered on a subway train by an angry dinosaur with rabies? Can I feel blue for the entire week or do I really only have a window of a couple of days to “shake it off”. Another one claimed that depression will ruin your life and everyone you come in contact with, (OK, maybe that’s the conclusion I drew from seeing the commercial). Who are the pharmaceutical marketers trying to convince is depressed, the miserable or the slightly maladjusted happy person?

 

As I’ve said many times before, one of the leading causes of depression is being told you are in fact depressing. No pill will cure that, only new friends. You don’t see many commercials advertising new friends in a bottle… but how awesome would that be?!

 

I’ve always liked gray. I’ve always liked gloomy, rainy days and sad, slow music. Not all the time, but more than “not ever”. I have days where I don’t feel fresh… no, that’s not what I meant. I have days that I don’t feel like a ray of sunshine and that day might slip into tomorrow or even next week, but I’m not opposed against it. I’m not in a corner rocking back and forth, crying and laughing and crying. I’m just not a sparkly, firecracker whose oozing sunshine and wants to brighten your day with my amazing smile.

 

So let depression breath, it’s not the end of the world. There are lots of things in this world that can make you depressed, why not enjoy a few of them? Why would you want to medicate yourself? Why would you want to take away an opposite of happiness, which would ultimately ruin being happy? What could be more depressing than taking pills to be happy?

 

The only way I’d take depression medicine is if I could crush them up and snort them at a party with some strippers.

 

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

Written by Ramblin' Rooster

February 2, 2009 at 4:43 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That was another gem of advice. Roost on.

    pochp

    February 2, 2009 at 4:51 am

    • pochp, just think how happy we would all be if we were willing to be depressed. I’d say a good friend beats a great pill any day. Thanks for commenting.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      February 2, 2009 at 11:34 pm


Leave a Reply

