Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

How Can Words Be Bad?

with 2 comments

I was sitting in the parking lot of a discount carburetor workshop when I heard a couple of men walking along having the most foul of conversations. It was the kind of conversation that would make Martin Scorsese pass out and Quentin Tarantino blush. We’re talking some serious filth, flarn, filth as Eddie Murphy likes to say that Bill Cosby would say.

 

I’m not offended by “rough” language, but it does sound “dirty” when it comes out of other people’s mouths. It makes me wonder how horrible I sound when I drop f-bombs or other colorful words. Do I sound as terrible as these two hooligans walking across the parking lot? I don’t see why I wouldn’t. Oh wait, because it’s me and I’m totally biased when it comes to myself, so I must be the exception. Whoa, that was close.

 

Where did cuss words come from? Who was on the committee that decided which words would be placed on the taboo list of swears? Why do certain words have such power behind them? Why are these words so important in our lives and especially our culture?

 

I’m sure you’ve seen an ‘R’ rated movie on television that’s been “edited for language”. You know, where they replace the curse words with family friendly curse words. When you watch one of these movies it really becomes difficult to bear. If you’re a fan of film and artistic expression, then just having it changed is already painful enough, but the dubbed “clean” language is just annoying.

 

Is frickin’ a much more pleasant term? If I was to tell you to fvck off, would it be more or less hurtful than if I told you that I hoped you were to be murdered tonight? Personally, I’d much rather be told to fvck off than something as horrible as being murdered. You can bounce back after you’ve fvcked off, but it’s a little hard not to let dying bum you out. Now if our conversation was recorded and played on television then it would go like this, “Why do you “take off”! I hope you get murdered tonight!” Weird huh, no one seems to care about violence.

 

What about all the pseudo bad words? Is shit really a bad word? What about damn, hell, crap, and bitch? Bitch can’t be a bad word, because I hear it all the time, everywhere. It wasn’t that long ago that bitch was a bad word. Maybe it changed because of all the women who became proud of being bitches, (or at least that’s what I gather from looking at the keychain rack at gas stations). I guess words become acceptable only after society comes to terms with them or we somehow work them into our pop culture. Maybe rap music gave us the privilege to use bitch?

 

The pen is mightier than the sword, but is the motherflippin’ pen stronger than goshdarn sword?

 

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster 

Written by Ramblin' Rooster

February 7, 2009 at 5:08 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You are so right! I am a reformed swearer and I always recollect Jerry Seinfeld who never swore in his act because he saw it as a crutch.

    Also, profanity can put you on the losing end of many social exchanges. You can endure the rudest, most patronizing and obnoxious customer service known to man, but if you drop a profanity in response, you are not only done but the bad guy.

    As much as I like a good f-bomb, (it just feels so right), not swearing is much more powerful.

    Michael

    February 7, 2009 at 5:52 am

    • Michael, @#*# you’re so #$%&ing right! I’d put swearing up there as one of the most unthought about, uncared about addictions humans face. I’m so bad that I actually have to be conscious of my tongue when I’m around certain company. You not kidding about the customer service thing… makes me laugh. You could argue all day with someone on the phone about a bill or something, using the nastiest tone and most condescending attitude, but as soon as you let “one of those” words slip… the call is over. I just don’t know why we’re all like this still. You’d think we’d be completely desensitized to foul language by now.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      February 8, 2009 at 3:40 am


Leave a Reply

