Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

To Be On Time Or Not?

with 4 comments

As people, we are obsessed with time and some more than others. Whether you think you’re “outside the mainstream” or not, it’s near impossible to be without it. At some point you’re going to need or just plain want to know what time it is, (you burned out hippie!). Sometimes I’ll look at my wrist watch two or three times in a row and still not know what time it is. I have sixteen clocks in my seven room house.

 

I, of course, have a standard love/hate relationship with time. I like to watch time when I’m at work or at some other place I’d rather not be. They say a watched pot never boils, but I say it just takes a really long time. I like to track time. I often ask myself, (even sometimes out loud), “Where did the time go?” “It’s already three?” and the classic, “What time is it?” I like to estimate around or about it. When I drive long distances, I try to guess to the exact minute when I’ll get there, to the door. I like to figure out how long it’s going to take to do something and then see if I make it on schedule.

 

What I hate about time is that I feel it slipping away from me. It just keeps going faster and faster. I never feel like there’s enough time in the day to accomplish what I want. “Never enough time” should be my epitaph.

 

So what about arrival time? I’ve always been of the belief that you should be on time. If you say that you’ll be somewhere at five, you should be there at five, (not 5:05 or 5:15). I don’t know if this was taught to me or just something I latched on to as a kid and adopted as my own as I grew, but somewhere that idea got inside of me.

 

My question is does it really matter? Every doctor I have visited has made me wait. It could be a doctor that I’ve gone to my whole life, I still end up waiting. I could arrive a day early and I still wouldn’t be asked to “come on back” till fifteen past my appointment time. I see people show up to work everyday late, yet I still see them everyday, their not getting fired or told to “shape up”. I’ve had countless dates, meetings, business deals, get togethers, practices or other, miscellaneous occasions where the other person has waltzed in as though time doesn’t exist, like it couldn’t have been avoided, so what’s the big deal, “I’m here now”. If you’ve noticed, they’re never upset or putout by their tardiness. Why should they be, they’re not the ones that waited, rotting, watching life pass by in slow motion. Even going to a movie, the paper says eight, you get there and there’s twenty minutes of commercials and previews.

 

So why should I bust my ass trying to get somewhere on time, when I feel like I’m the only person on the planet who can tell time? Have you ever seen a person eating alone at a restaurant and you asked the waiter, “What’s the deal with that sad, lonely person?” and the waiter replied, “Oh yeah, tragic, they never showed up to dates on time, so now they’re forced to spend the rest of life without love.” Of course not, there is no substantial punishment for being late.

 

If you want to look at a house for sale and the realtor is an hour late, chances are you want to see the house more than ever. Hell, you waited a whole hour. If you tour the house and want to buy it, you can’t turn to the agent and say, “We want to make an offer on this house, but we need a new agent” or “We want this house, but you’ll only receive a 5% commission because of your poor time management skills.”

 

We’ve got to come together on this and fight these time hippies. So let’s promise each other, the next time someone shows up late to anything, for any reason, spit in their face and I’ll do the same. Maybe if everyone did it to all the “show-up-late-losers” we could rid the world of lackadaisical time travelers.

 

I gotta go…

 

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

Written by Ramblin' Rooster

February 20, 2009 at 5:20 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. HATE LATE.
    Ramble on!

    pochp

    February 20, 2009 at 5:42 am

  2. I’m in. Again, just like swearing and a host of bad habits, I’m a reformed being late guy to an always on time guy, and I can live with it.

    Showing up late is so disrespectful, sending the message that your time is more valuable than others, but ultimately I think it’s a sign of lack of self respect. Usually people who are habitually late have other bad habits, like habitually having a lot of excuses, habitually having things go wrong that cause them to be late, and habitually being the victim of forces beyond their control like traffic.

    Michael

    February 20, 2009 at 8:09 am

    • Michael, that is so right on. You’ve tapped into a whole nother blog. People who are constantly late do seem to have the worst luck and ironical, horrible lives, their stories go on forever. The day to day bad luck they experience is greater than what any normal person could dream of, it is crazy the correlation. I think they’re just out of work fiction novelists. On your list of habitual bad habits, don’t foget staying up late to write blogs.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      February 21, 2009 at 4:36 am


Leave a Reply

