Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

Too Late and Too Far Behind To Get It

with 2 comments

I’m sure I can’t be alone in this, but I fear I may be a minority when it comes to being behind the curve of “the new”. I know it’s my own fault. It’s hard to be “cutting edge” when you keep yourself locked away in an ivory tower. It’s not really an ivory tower, but you get my point. I don’t watch the news, read the paper, read the internet or receive e-mails about current events. I don’t talk with my friends about the state of the world and what’s going on. My life consists of sleeping, working, eating, kid activities, writing this blog, trying to grow RoosterEgg.com, reading comics, playing video games and on occasion staring off in space wondering “Why?” about things in my life.

 

So it’s no surprise when years later someone says to me, “Oh man, you don’t know about such-and-such? Where you been? It’s only like the coolest thing ever.” To which I say, “Yeah, I know, dumb me.”

 

Honestly, more times than not the “such-and-such” that the person is talking about isn’t even worth listening to them describe, but then, every once in a while there’s that thing that peaks my interest and I give it a chance. I usually fall in love with it, especially if it’s something that’s hard to find.

 

Depending on what it is determines how much money it’ll cost me to play “catch up”, but I’m always on the losing end of being behind. I am aware that even if I had been cool enough to have jumped on the train when it originally pulled out of the station that I would have eventually spent whatever money I might be spending to get on board, but it does seem to feel better when that money is spent over a period of time rather than in one big bulk.

 

Then there are the variables. Video games that are old or older are certainly cheaper than when they first come out, so it doesn’t hurt me any being slow to get hip on those. It can suck to try and wait it out for prices to drop when you’re excited about the game, but saving more 50% or more usually overcomes that disappointment of waiting. Nothing suck worse than buying it full price then seeing it for half that price a few months later. Comic books swing both ways. If the series is a hit or at least popular by the collectors, then the cost for back issues can be extremely taxing on the wallet. On the other hand if the series wasn’t popular and nobody cared about it anyway except me and some guy in Jersey, then you can buy a bulk of back issues at half, even sometimes a third of original cover price.

 

As always when fate is on your side and you get a good deal or are lucky enough to be there in the beginning you haven’t complaints or cares, but once you’re on the “I missed out” team, the nagging voice of despair looms over your head like a storm cloud during a picnic. You can’t keep the words out of your head; over and over they taunt you saying, “Why couldn’t I have been there in the beginning. Why?!”

 

Thank goodness my archive is free and complete. Blogs: so worthless.

 

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

Written by Ramblin' Rooster

March 24, 2009 at 3:43 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I just found out that we share the semi-ascetic lifestyle Roost.
    I wish you get over those taunting words. Not worth the time. Ramble on!

    pochp

    March 24, 2009 at 3:58 am

    • pochp, I’m not hung up on the taunting, I just feel bad for the kids seeing me scream “Shut up” suddenly and for no explicable reason to what appears to be no one. Honestly, I’m just sad I didn’t put something in the blog about the guys who buy stuff first like, “There’s someone out there who once paid $3000 for a VCR.” As always, enjoy your comments. Semi-ascetic… jeez.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      March 25, 2009 at 2:41 am


Leave a Reply

