Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

Juvenile Mind Always A Good Time

with 2 comments

The only time I hear “being juvenile” used is when some is trying to insult an adult. No one ever has the exchange of words, “Hey look at little Timmy over there throwing sand. It’s getting everywhere.” “Oh, it’s OK, he’s just being juvenile.” Once again our culture has taken a word and given it negative connotation and a contradictory definition. Most of the time a juvenile mind is an adult that has a “dirt mind”. It’s like the two are synonymous. What’s worse is that it’s pretty much true.

 

I guess the reason for it is that teenagers only think about sex and anything that even remotely deals with something taboo or sounds like it might be about something taboo, they giggle. It’s like an inside joke. A juvenile isn’t mature enough to talk about serious “dirt things”.

 

It’s too bad that juvenile minds couldn’t be in reference to wanting to play on the slide or to be free of stress and worry. A juvenile doesn’t get bogged down by taxes or mortgages, (not only for the fact that they don’t have them) because their minds are in a different place, a lighthearted place. A juvenile mind should mean one that wants to create, have fun, frolic and to be happy. Not something to try and shun your neighbor’s actions. “Oh he’s just so juvenile!”

 

I suffer from M.J.M.S. (or momentary juvenile mind syndrome) from time to time. I don’t giggle at “wood” or “erect” or other words of insinuating perversion, but my mind is a little filthy. Take today, here’s a good example, I saw a new car on the street with the name ‘Uplander’. Nothing to incriminating about that, but yet it seemed to dance on the edge of something vulgar. I think it’s the “up” part. I’m not really sure, but it just seems to be reminiscent of “Shove it up your…” lander? Which isn’t bad, “Oh yeah? Stick it up your lander!” I can see it catching on in three to one hundred years.

 

Here lies the problem with the dirty mind. There’s no end to it. Pretty much everything you can say can be twisted into something dirty. You have to admit that the times are changing and perversion of all kinds is much more open, expressed, visible and viable today in ways that it never was in the past. So with that comes a degree of being desensitized to what might have been offensive in the past. This combined with the “world advertising dollar” going after younger and younger consumers; the result couldn’t be anything less than juvenile.

 

Through it all though, I maintain that a good juvenile laugh from time to time can be refreshing. Laughter is good for the body, mind and spirit, so does it matter where the laugh comes from? Is laughing at a good clean joke better than laughing at a racy one?

 

The next time you see me driving or sitting alone and I’m laughing, it’s probably a sign of something juvenile happening in my head. If it bothers you can stick it up your lander!

 

 

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

 

 

 

Written by Ramblin' Rooster

March 25, 2009 at 3:17 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I noticed that this is not the first time at all that you write about this topic. Why have you decided to touch it again? Sorry, I couldn’t help myself. Thanks for spamming me.

    Ex Back

    April 10, 2009 at 2:43 am

    • Ex Back, I decided to touch it again because I like to touch it. No one else will touch it, so I have to touch it myself. I like to touch it. It’s fun to touch it. Do you want to touch it? Thank you for allowing me to drive my point home.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      April 10, 2009 at 3:40 am


Leave a Reply

