Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

Best Friend Debate

with 2 comments

The word best means, according to Merriam-Webster, 1: excelling all others <the best student> 2: most productive of good : offering or producing the greatest advantage, utility, or satisfaction <what is the best thing to do>

 

This unfortunately doesn’t sew up my argument with the kind of rock hard, undisputable evidence I was looking for. See, I’ve been engaged in a battle for most of my life with just about anyone I happen upon that disagrees with me. The fight has been over the concept of the “best friend”. More precisely, can a person have more than one best friend simultaneously?

 

Reading the above definition, one could easily argue that it doesn’t clearly state that it can’t be more than one, although I would immediately slap your face if you tried to argue that point. I read the definition and take solace in knowing that it reads exactly how I want it to read, student, (singular) and thing, (singular).

 

I mean it’s totally ridiculous to think that best can be many. Let’s just use the example sentences from the dictionary. Imagine having this conversation, “Who is your best student?” “Those five kids over there.” “No, I mean your best student.” “Those five kids over there.” “OK, seriously, I just want the best one, the smartest one, the one with the best grades, marks, papers, ideas, etc.” “Those five kids over there.” You would kill the person if this were real.

 

Still not satisfied? “What is the best thing to do?” “Here is a short list of the best thing to do.” “Um, I just want to know what the best thing is.” “Here’s a short list.” Again, murder would be your only option.

 

So I need your help, please. Tell me what you think. Can there be multiple bests in a single category, like I don’t know… say a best friend? Let me know what you think!

 

Perhaps this is where the term best of the best came from, (having this argument).

 

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

Written by Ramblin' Rooster

April 11, 2009 at 4:47 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yeah, but technically you could have a “best friend”, a “bff”, and a “bromance”, or a “man crush”, to dilineate between those special men in your life. I’ll pass on the “man crush”, that’s totally gay, like saying “I’m straight, unless the guy is totally cool and good looking, then I’m gay”. Okay with bromance though, that’s just a mutual admiration society.

    Michael

    April 12, 2009 at 3:45 am

    • Michael, you came back, I’m so happy! How gay is my excitement? I’m so sheltered, never heard of bromance. That’s pretty funny. You could also throw in brofriend, main bro, homey, brutha, cuz, and man bitch… err… whoops, guess that last one ain’t gonna fly, but honestly how many friends can a guy have?. I appreciate your timely response in this matter. So, that’s one vote for yes.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      April 12, 2009 at 4:03 am


Leave a Reply

