Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

I Hate Entrepreneurs

with 10 comments

I have a friend who’s an entrepreneur. I mean he’s hard core, to the bone, preneurey. He often gives me books, articles and links to e-books that he wants to “share with me”. At the very least, I check them out. Sometimes I read all of the content, sometimes I get about five pages into it. In all of the material that I have read the theme is always one of incredible positive thinking. It’s so positive in fact that it makes me sick. It’s creepy to be so go get’em, gung-ho, and don’t let anything stop you. These people are like robot, cult leader, windup dolls.

 

Here is an excerpt from, ‘I’m Going To Get Rich Even If I Have To Funking Kill You’ by Roy Hammondbergski, a book that I was reading earlier. “If someone tells you they’re going to kill you, simply say no thank you and keep going. The important thing is to not let the bullets slow you down. If you do lose a limb, merely pick it up and place it in your leather satchel (as discussed in Chapter 32: Buying a Professional Shoulder Bag). Medical science has come a long way and they can attach it later. If nothing else you can have it replaced with a prosthetic one. That will certainly open the door to some new clients, (see Chapter 46: Using Anything to Market Yourself – Everything Is An Ice Breaker).”

 

“Keanu Reeves is an excellent actor”. I don’t know who in the world believes this to be true, but if you find her, tell I said she’s stupid. Truth is, it doesn’t really matter if he is or isn’t, because he’s made a career of being in movies and his resume is quite extensive. I use to wonder how people I thought weren’t up to snuff could get to the places they were at. Now I know, from reading all this entrepreneur propaganda, that is was all just a state of mind.

 

I now realize the reason I sit in a cubicle and look out the window at the rain, (even when it’s sunny outside) is because I’m not an entrepreneur. I don’t think I ever will be. Truth is I’m just jealous of anyone that can persevere the trials of life to obtain the goals they’re after. I have a hard time standing by the microwave wave “waiting for two seconds between pops”.

 

I was always too afraid to “go for it”. I was too comfortable in the miniature empire of security I had built in my head and house. Like a child hiding behind his couch pillow fort, I was content on going nowhere. At the same time I was frustrated that I wasn’t going anywhere. Talk about the beginning stage of insanity.

 

I don’t know if it’s a case of “greener grass” or if I have gravely misjudged my own existence, but walking down the center of a metaphorical set of railroad tracks is taxing at the least. One rail is for people doing what it is they want to do. They are happy and driven to get out of bed in the morning to greet the day. The other rail is for people content with the void, the nothingness and the sound of life passing them by. They don’t care about what it is they’re doing or what’s going on. This is quite evident by the mustard stain on their shirt. In the middle is me, wishing for something different, complaining about the stain on my shirt.

 

What’s a rooster to do? If I don’t get out of the middle I won’t be able to dodge the oncoming train and believe me you that train is bearing down the tracks at a blinding speed. You can’t stop a train, but a train can’t leave the tracks. Thanks to my preneurist friend and $60,000 dollars worth of literature, I’ve learned this: The future is still underwritten as long as you are the writer.

 

Beware the editor.

 

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Question: Why does thinking that Keanu is an excellent actor make one a stupid person? Isn’t this a matter of opinion rather than intelligence?

    Unless of course you would say the same of someone who thinks that he’s a terrible actor.

    Anakin McFly

    April 18, 2009 at 9:20 am

    • Anakin McFly, you must big the biggest Keanu fan of all time. I wish you would have pulled something else from it, but I like the fact that you’ve asked the question that matters to you. The only way to measure intelligence is standardize testing and/or appearing on Jeopardy. My whole blog is an opinion. The reference to no one liking his acting was my opinion and the part about the girl being stupid was merely insinuating that only a young girl with a crush would think Keanu was a good actor. I might tell someone they’re stupid if they said he was a terrible actor, but only because they’d be talking about Keanu… whoops, guess that makes me… I sincerely appreciate your comments.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      April 19, 2009 at 2:34 am

  2. If you choose your destination and focus on it long and hard enough, you’ll get there no matter what storms rise up along the way. The problem is most people don’t know where they want to go.

    Jack McCallister

    April 18, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    • Jack McCallister, there is definitely truth in what you are saying, but figuring out where to go can prove to be very difficult for some. You ever try picking a restaurant to eat at with your wife? Thanks for commenting.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      April 19, 2009 at 2:20 am

  3. Ah Keanu….. I wouldn’t say he’s a great actor and I wouldn’t say he’s bad. I will say that The Matrix rocks this world!!!!

    Jack McCallister

    April 19, 2009 at 5:20 am

    • Jack McCallister, ah Keanu? Maybe you’re the biggest Keanu fan in the world. When is Matrix 4 coming out? I liked (and own) the Matrix trilogy and I suppose in a way it did rock the world. It certainly spilled into a lot of other media, mostly parodies. Thanks for commenting.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      April 20, 2009 at 12:46 am

  4. Hi!

    Found your article because it popped up in the Google News Alerts for Keanu, so that’s how I got here.

    Mostly I just take issue with people who consider a person’s opinion on a subjective manner to be representative of their intelligence, not just regarding Keanu but just about anything else. It usually tends to come across as ‘If you don’t agree with me, then you’re dumb’. So that bit just bugged me.

    Wouldn’t consider myself the biggest Keanu fan, but thank you anyway. I’m just the founder of the Keanu SWAT Team, an online group dedicated to defending Mr. Reeves against people who insist on slamming his acting and everything else about him.

    There are about 20 of us, and so far I don’t think – depending on your definition of ‘young’ and ‘crush’ and ‘girl’ – any are young girls with a crush. Most are fully functional adults, male and female of varying sexual orientations including straight guys and lesbians, who do honestly think that Keanu is at least an average actor, if not better.

    And yes, The Matrix rocks this world.

    Anakin_McFly

    April 19, 2009 at 5:53 am

    • Anakin McFly, see we all liked the Matrix. I am however intrigued by the Keanu SWAT team. It sounds pretty awesome, but I fear I am not welcome to join. Ironically I did a little research on Keanu and was surprised at what I found. He seems like a very down to earth person and sadly suffered some serious tragedy in the last decade. So perhaps I am now the biggest Keanu fan. Thanks for commenting, I enjoyed your reply.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      April 20, 2009 at 1:02 am

  5. There is no Matrix 4. It’s like a spoon… there is no spoon…

    Yeah, Keanu is awesome. He’s constantly touted as Hollywood’s most reluctant star and appears to be allergic to the limelight. While his peers went out partying and making tabloid news, he would sit in his hotel room (didn’t have a house until recently; he moved from hotel to hotel living out of a single suitcase) and read books.

    And so far he’s the only actor I know who does things like this:

    “After one take, he gives Diaz a bear hug and pulls her into an impromptu flamenco dance, waving his arms in the air like a goofy shaman; she responds by giving him a playful kick in the ass. A few minutes later, he yells, “Oh, my God!” Several people turn around, startled. He shrugs cheerfully: “It’s part of my acting exercise.” This particular exercise also includes shouting “Let us perform!” and then answering himself in a Yiddish accent: “Lettuce? You vant lettuce?” “Keanu’s a lettuce,” says the writer/director, Steven Baigelman, nonsensically, to which Reeves replies, “Iceberg!”

    http://www.whoaisnotme.net/articles/1996_03xx_ins.htm

    Meanwhile the tragedies in his life spread far beyond the last decade:

    – His parents broke up when he was a kid; mother remarried three or four times;
    – In 1993 his best friend River Phoenix died
    – In 1994 his estranged father was arrested for leading a drug smuggling ring, just as Speed was making it big in the box office and Keanu was getting his first real taste of fame, only to have journalists constantly hounding him about his dad;
    – In 1999 his daughter was born stillborn days before the delivery date;
    – Four months later, his girlfriend died in a car crash;
    – And the coroner’s report revealed that she had been pregnant again.
    – Meanwhile, his sister – the person whom he claims to be his best friend in the world – has cancer.

    Pretty miserable life. :\ A year or so ago he went into therapy.

    Anakin_McFly

    April 20, 2009 at 4:14 am

    • Anakin McFly, your passion for Keanu runs deep. Strong is the tie you have to his good name. May you rid the world of all those who think Keanu is a terrible actor. Keep fighting and never give up. For all you Keanu fans, go to Anakin’s site, you’re gonna love it!

      Ramblin' Rooster

      April 21, 2009 at 3:45 am


Leave a Reply

