Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

My Favorite Things

leave a comment »

I’ll admit I do like “raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens” because the rain makes roses look fresh and kittens without whiskers look freaky. Having favorites is always a thin line to walk. So many situations for and against favorites, it’s hard to tell when and how to use them. It can be that you may not want to deal with favorites at all because of all the problems it causes.

 

If you have multiple children, I don’t need to tell you that a favorite is out of the question. Having a favorite restaurant doesn’t seem like a big deal, but a favorite spot inside the restaurant is setting yourself up for disappointment when you see Earl and Ethyl sitting in it.

 

There is no rhyme or reason to a favorite thing. You might have a reason, but it is so personal and quite possibly fleeting that it’s statistically insignificant. When I was a child I had a very plain, brown, teddy bear. He was in fact so plain his name was Brown Bear. He was by far my favorite thing. As of this moment, I have no idea where Brown Bear is or what has become of him. Do I still think of him? Sure I do, but he is no longer a current favorite thing.

 

My point is that favorites come and go quite rapidly, (compared to the span of the average lifetime) favorite food, song, band, shirt, movie, etc. One day it’s your favorite thing, until the next favorite thing comes and takes its place. Is it human nature and the tendency to overexpose ourselves to these favorite things that cause us to burn out on them? Does a favorite thing deserve the respect of moderation or are they to solely serve the purpose of consumption and pleasure?

 

What, if anything, makes a favorite special? If a favorite lasts for more than five years does it advance to a new term or classification? Is there such thing a favorite thing that lasts forever? (If you say “my spouse” or “my kid(s)”, you should be ashamed for calling them a thing).

 

I seem to favor the odd and unattainable as my favorite things.

One-legged strippers

Job: Being Yourself, Salary: 1 gazillion dollars

Fat-free fat

Smiling corpses

My fans

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

Written by Ramblin' Rooster

May 2, 2009 at 3:29 am

Leave a Reply

