Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

Too Late For Love

with 2 comments

When I first was asked to write a blog I must admit I wasn’t too keen on the idea. To be honest, I wasn’t even real clear what a blog was, (or at least the literal definition). The idea was to write a blog everyday. In hindsight I’m not really sure it that was my idea or the creators of RoosterEgg.com, but I guess at this point what does it matter.

 

You may or may not think that writing a blog everyday is (insert one of a million adjectives here). Again, it doesn’t really matter. I’m only writing this for the fact that there are times when I think about my blog critically.

 

One could get tied up in the debate over making a deadline versus quality of content, but yet I shy away from that discussion as well.

 

This is the point where you might be saying to the screen, “What the hell are you getting at?”

 

My point is that I was at a concert tonight and it was horrible. Without getting into any particulars or mulling over personal beefs, preferences or dislikes, I will say, at the very least, the quality of the sound itself was pathetic. It ruined the show for me. Just like my old music teacher use to say, “Even Mozart through cracked speakers sounds like garbage”.

 

As I got home, extremely late,  upstairs I went to fired up my computer. I had the feeling of not wanting to give 100%, yet I feel obligated to write a blog everyday, hence the name of “daily blog”. But if the blog is crappy, then I’m no better than someone who doesn’t care about the quality of sound at the show I saw tonight. Therefore I am ripping you off in a way and you might feel angry as I did tonight. The only difference is, I suppose a huge difference, is that you didn’t pay any money to read this blog. Regardless, I’d like to provide you with, (at a minimum) a good blog.

 

The flip side of this would be that anything you do on a daily basis is going to fluctuate in quality. Not every one can be gold, not every one can be a zinger, and not every one can be the best damn blog you’ve ever read. There’s a reason for the philosophy of “you can’t please all the people all the time” and “smiles are fleeting straight lines are forever”.

 

So if you ever happen across my blog and you’re reading along and you yawn, (maybe you don’t even finish it) please take note that it’s not because I didn’t want to rub my love on your leg, because I really, really did want to.

 

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

Written by Ramblin' Rooster

May 7, 2009 at 5:36 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I enjoy all yours posts, RR.

    I couldn’t blog everyday, myself. It’s too labor intensive for me.

    alantru

    May 7, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    • alantru, that is kind of you to say. I wish you did blog everyday because the fact that you don’t is my only complaint. Thanks for the words.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      May 8, 2009 at 2:49 am


Leave a Reply

