Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

Old Man Cell Phone

with 6 comments

I love my dad. He’s one cool cat. He’s the kind of guy that made all my friends say, “Your dad is so cool” when I was kid. It’s in this love that I find so many wonderful quirks to poke fun at. Here are but a few.

 

He recently got a cell phone at age 69. Way to break the cliché of old dog new tricks. Be sure you keep it on you at all times in case you fall and “can’t get up”. Let’s just hope you don’t fall on the phone and break it under your hip.

 

Even though the only calls he receives are from solicitors, the only calls he makes are to order pizza and everyone he knows and loves is dead the man still got a cell phone. Yet, he decided to keep his land line. Why? His response, “I do some of my banking on the phone and I don’t want people to snatch my account information out of the air.” Excellent point, (note to self, start snatching bank information out of the air).

 

Since having the phone I have never once been able to get a hold of him on it. I’ve called it like two hundred and eighty seven times, but no luck. He called me today and I missed the call by three milliseconds. I immediately returned his call and again was unsuccessful in getting in contact with him.

 

I once left a message for him on the cell and called four days later to ask why he never called me back. His response, (you guessed it right) “I don’t know how to get my messages.”

 

My favorite goes to the “you hang up first” game. Unlike when you’re on the phone with your “new love” we aren’t saying “I love yous” and asking that the other one hang up first. Instead we say goodbye and I don’t hang up. I like to listen to him fumble around for ten minutes or so looking for the “off button”. Sometimes he’ll even start talking to his cats or my mother. I always like to hear him reiterate whatever I just said to him on the phone, (just to see if he got it right). Sometimes he just tell it to thin air.

 

I don’t feel bad for poking fun, because I know if I get to that ripe age I’ll be just the same.

 

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

Written by Ramblin' Rooster

May 21, 2009 at 4:26 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Will your dad read this? I think he’d really like it. A fun tribute. Wonderful stuff, as always.

    alantru

    May 21, 2009 at 5:27 am

    • alantru, no my dad won’t be reading this. He might like it, he might not, he might fall asleep in the middle. Knowing him like I do he’ll wait for the DVD to come out. (If you knew him you’d think that was hilarious). Kind words, kind comments. Thanks.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      May 22, 2009 at 12:45 am

  2. I’ve accidentally left my cell phone on while drunk. If you are still married to/going out with/friends with the person the next day, it makes for awkward but funny listening. Very funny post!!

    Scott Oglesby

    May 21, 2009 at 10:46 am

    • Scott Oglesby, nothing is more awesome than one message of “pocket fumbling” taking up all your message memory. I lost an incredible job offer, getting to see my one true love before she got on a plane for Europe to never come back and the news that my mother died all because my alcoholic friend called me and proceed to past out at the beep. Thanks for your enthusiasms though, it helps with the healing process. Nice comments, thanks for sharing.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      May 22, 2009 at 1:27 am

  3. I’ve always viewed cellphones as a necessary evil. But an unnecessary evil?

    Now that’s evil.

    Capitalist Lion Tamer

    May 22, 2009 at 6:57 pm

    • Capitalist Lion Tamer, the whole point of evil is to be, well… evil. At least that’s what it says here in my ole trusty ‘Handbook of Evil’. I’ll tell my dad you’re on his side. Thanks for droppin’ thoughts into words.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      May 23, 2009 at 3:14 am


Leave a Reply

