Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

I Am Spam, Hear Me Blocked

with 6 comments

I am a casual blogger and an even more causal commentator. I like to keep it casual, just like my life and liaisons. Just kidding, I don’t have a life.

 

As I stated before, I’m somewhat new to the internet universe. Before this all started I pretty much just wandered around the farm, crowing at sunrises and lookin’ for feed. So when I began to write this blog I had no idea that I would also begin to read other’s blogs as well.

 

There are a lot of great ones out there. Some are so great that I feel like I have to leave a comment for every post they write. A few of these people have been telling me that my comments having been getting caught up in their spam filter.

 

Have you ever been called spam? Well let me tell you it is very painful. It’s exactly the same as being wrongfully accused of murder or rape. It’s as if a friend “pranked” you by placing your picture on a sexual predator/offender website. It’s like your lover telling you they’ve cheated and now someone’s pregnant. It’s equivalent to hearing the news of your parents dying. Having your face on a poster for AIDS awareness would be better than this. I’d rather pass broken glass than be called spam.

 

I know these blogging associates weren’t directly calling me spam, but it doesn’t matter. There’s just some things you want to be clear of, to keep a safe distance from or to make sure never gets associated with your good name. Once you get “spam” attached to you it’s like defecating in your pants at camp, you’ll never be able to shake it.

 

I just don’t understand why I’ve been blacklisted like this. Is it because even as I type this I’m sitting in a warehouse full of boxes with exciting and innovative products and merchandise at prices so low that the competition is running scared? Is it because I offer free shipping and an unmatched 60-day money back guarantee? Is it because I will throw in a free bottle of “smooth sensations” if you call within the next ten minutes? I didn’t think so either. So what gives?

 

Can you please give your e-mail address?

 

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

Written by Ramblin' Rooster

May 26, 2009 at 3:07 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is a hilarious post, yet sad at the same time. I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about this.

    Yes, really.

    Anyway, I think it’s the apostrophe on Ramblin. When I go to take you out of the spam filter, it doesn’t say Ramblin’ Rooster. It says Ramblin%39 Rooster or some silly thing like that.

    Damn apostrophe

    Claire Collins

    May 26, 2009 at 4:04 am

    • Claire Collins, if only my parents hadn’t been doing drugs when I was conceived, maybe I wouldn’t have the apostrophe. Hell maybe I wouldn’t be a rooster. I’m sorry to cause extra work for pulling me out of the spam pot, but I’m thankful every time. Thanks for approving me.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      May 27, 2009 at 3:31 am

  2. Hmm, I wonder if spam (the meat) is 39% poultry?
    I’ve never even considered the implications of this for you, a rooster. I just truly hope that you arn’t still forced to live by some archaic 1% law. I’d hate for you to be excluded from the henhouse!

    Scott Oglesby

    May 26, 2009 at 6:54 am

    • Scott Oglesby, I’m happy to say that SPAM is 100% poultry free, (if you don’t count the chicken feet that’s in there). Don’t worry about me, I’m king of the hen house, (as long as Farmer Brown isn’t around). You’re thoughts give me a chill. I’m having nightmares of grinders and presses and conveyor belts and canning machines…

      Ramblin' Rooster

      May 27, 2009 at 3:37 am

  3. Apparently, the good people as Akismet feel that I approve entirely too much spam, thus making a mockery of all their hard work.

    As to why you’re the target, I’m not sure. You’re on the honor roll and everything.

    I must point out that I never called you spam, much like I most likely never referred to John Updike as a hack, or Miss California as a hypocritical mouthbreather.

    • Capitalist Lion Tamer, I was hoping to avoid the sibling-esque fight, but you made me… “I never said that you said that… I did not!” But as I said to Claire I do appreciate you pulling me from the fire.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      May 27, 2009 at 3:50 am


Leave a Reply

