Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

A poem from a friend

with 8 comments

My friend asked if he could “throw down”, to whick I said sure. Who’d be stupid enough to say no?

 

CHASIN’ TAIL

words by Fishpond

 

HEY QUIT PUNCHIN’ ME!

I’M SORRY, I HONESTLY THOUGHT YOU READ BETWEEN THE LINES OF SOCIAL BEHAVIOR

HEY QUIT KICKIN’ ME!

TRULY, THIS TIME I SEE CHALK DRAWN LINES, AROUND PORCUPINES, HOLDING WARNING SIGNS

HEY QUIT GRABBIN’ ME!

IT’S WRONG TO PICK ME UP TO PROTECT YOURSELF

FROM EVERYTHING YOU’VE BROUGHT TO LIGHT

 

THE MOOD SUDDENLY CHANGES INTO ANOTHER OF LIFE’S STAGES

 

BUT HEY ALL’S FAIR IN LOVE AND WAR 

YOU CAN CHANGE THE STORY

BUT NOT THE ENDING SO I’M TOLD

IF I MAY BE SO INCLINED AS TO UNWIND

WHAT STARTED OUT AS SIMPLE AS A SWOLLEN TONGUE

HAS EVOLVED INTO THE GIRL FOR WHICH I LONG

WHAT WOULD HAPPEN IF I HUNG MYSELF OUT TO DRY?

 

ALONE IN THIS LIFE, WITH NOTHING BUT A PRICE TO PAY

NEVER KNOWING WHAT WILL COME OR GO YOUR WAY

IN THE SHADOWS OF GREAT DAYS, ANYTHING IS POSSIBLE…

 

YOUR THOUGHTS CAN LEAD TO

BUT YOUR HEART WILL RETURN YOU

DON’T TAKE THE CHANCE, OF TAKING CHANCE

MISSING THE CHANCE OF TAKING A CHANCE

 

NO I DON’T THINK I KNOW YOU

BUT I’M SURE THAT I KNOW YOU

TRUE, YES, THINGS SEEM STRANGE

TAKE MY WORD THAT THEY ARE

‘CAUSE CARAMELCORN IS COMING HOME

WITH LIQUORICE WHIPS AND CANDY CONES

SMILES UPON STORIES OF INTERGALACTIC FOLLIES

AND I JUST CAN’T WAIT TO BE BORN

 

ALL I SEE IS BLACK AND WHITE

TO LIVE MY LIFE IN AN ARRAY OF GRAY

LOVE IS NOT SCIENTIFIC TO ME

JUST A LITTLE DRASTIC

Written by Ramblin' Rooster

June 4, 2009 at 5:55 am

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Me likey. Drastic Love. Cool. Was this something you once set to music?

    alantru

    June 5, 2009 at 3:23 am

    • alantru, me happy. Hey! I didn’t know you were a part-time clairvoyant. Why yes, at one time in this universe those words were actually sang to music, or at least that’s what my friend told me.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      June 5, 2009 at 3:50 am

  2. The felt like song lyrics!

    alantru

    June 5, 2009 at 3:55 am

    • alantru, I’m so happy to know you “felt it”. That will make my friend encouraged. Please send my your rendition with the instrumentation of your choice and I will pass it on the judges. “WordPress Idol” are you listening Scott?

      Ramblin' Rooster

      June 5, 2009 at 4:00 am

  3. Hahaha! To hear me sing is to feel your eardrums implode.

    alantru

    June 5, 2009 at 4:09 am

    • alantru, how would I know, until I’ve been blessed, (or graced) with the CD. I’m sure Goth Mark would love to help out!

      Ramblin' Rooster

      June 5, 2009 at 4:25 am

  4. Very cool. I can hear it. There’s a lot being said in there. I think your friend did very well.

    Claire Collins

    June 5, 2009 at 4:48 am


Leave a Reply

