Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

Another Poem from a Friend

with 14 comments

Once again, I’m too busy to write a blog for you, so I’ve asked my friend to loan me another poem.

Hope you enjoy…

 

CRUMBLE RANCH

words by Fishpond

 

I’ve been drinkin’

I’ve been smokin’

I’ve been druggin’ all my life

Now I wonder what it’s like

To look at me through others eyes

They’re never surprised in what I’ve said

It led me to a change of tune

My mood, stays the same

What a shame fortune and fame will never find me here

The roaring plains always drains the thoughts and dreams

Of Kings and Queens with violent means

My home if you make the way

With an umbrella parade so I don’t get caught in the rain

So insane to think the wine has feelings

And love will never die

Which is why the weary and the weak

Never mistake the two

It’s easy to choose for fun in the sun fully baked

At the bottom of the lake

My trouble soul not far behind

To get along to sing the songs of haste

In a child’s life the constant chase

After a place to rest hiding from the chance

It was all a waste

Seems like just enough to justify

My crossed eyed look and swollen tongue

The night is young

Wasted is all we’ve done

Please have patience

You’re chance at the gun

Will come around to you

 

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

Written by Ramblin' Rooster

June 5, 2009 at 4:44 am

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Fishpond’s been busy. This one is much darker than the other one but still lyrical I think.

    Claire Collins

    June 5, 2009 at 4:51 am

    • Claire Collins, truth be told he wrote these songs years ago, but I guess that still could be true of BEEN busy.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      June 6, 2009 at 4:33 am

  2. I like it! It’s reminds me a little of Morrison, Nice!

    Scott Oglesby

    June 5, 2009 at 5:16 pm

  3. Once again, this is nice stuff. These song lyrics… Was there a Crumble Ranch chorus that fishpond hasn’t included?

    Really like the umbrella parade line.

    alantru

    June 6, 2009 at 4:58 am

    • alantru, Fishpond hardly ever wrote a song with a repeating verse or chorus and in the end never did it. I asked him why once and he told me it’s because he thought it was cheating and a rip-off. Will pass the kind words on. Still waiting on that demo!

      Ramblin' Rooster

      June 6, 2009 at 5:10 am

  4. Tell your friend he has talent and that Goth Mark and I would only drag him down.

    There might be a good rhyme using Olive Branch with Crumble Ranch…

    Or not…

    alantru

    June 6, 2009 at 5:16 am


Leave a Reply

