Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

Use People, That’s What They’re There For

with 12 comments

When it comes to getting to know people, it’s important to find out things about them that will help in distinguishing them apart from others. Names are handy and faces are good. It’s also recommended that you learn things about them on a personal level. This could be anything from their favorite color to their birthday, or perhaps the town from which they hail.

 

By getting to know people you can develop what can only be described as trust. Trust is important to establish with people because it empowers you while at the same time making them weak and vulnerable.

 

Once you have a person trusting you, you may even be able to get them to believe in you or depend on you. This is commonly called friendship and it’s extremely valuable. Once you have someone’s friendship, they are completely blind to all attacks.

 

After you have received someone’s trust and friendship you can start milking them dry a favor at a time or simply take things from their home while they’re at work. Make sure you take little things at first so the chance of them “failing to notice things disappearing” is increased. Always save your most sought after object, (usually the largest and most expensive) to be the last thing to take. Once it’s “lifted” the friendship is all used up and you’ll have to replace it with a new one.

 

Here are a couple of things about myself:

 

–         I have a tattoo of my elbow on my knee.

–         No one has ever asked me to dance and lived.

–         Once I shot a rifle inside my grandmother’s house on New Year’s Eve killing a donkey. What the donkey was doing in my grandmother’s house is not to be discussed, ever.

–         I do my own laundry.

–         The space between my ears fluctuates with each blog.

 

Remember: using people is a terrible way to spend your life.

 

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ll admit it, I’m using you.

    I use you for a good laugh at least once a day. I’m not prepared to stop doing it either.

    Now that I know so much about you, (The donkey thing has to stay a secret), I’m going to tell you a little about me. I have a tattoo on my ankle of a tattoo.

    I said I’d tell you a little. That’s all you get for now.

    Claire Collins

    June 6, 2009 at 6:49 am

    • Claire Collins, I love honesty. Some of them want to be used by YOU! I can’t wait for the next installment of “Getting To Know Claire A Little At A Time.”

      Ramblin' Rooster

      June 7, 2009 at 3:59 am

      • What would you like to know?

        Claire Collins

        June 7, 2009 at 4:48 am

        • Claire Collins, what’s your favorite word and why?

          Ramblin' Rooster

          June 8, 2009 at 4:01 am

          • That’s a tough question. There are so many wonderful words out there. When I write, I use the word ‘that’ too much, so I’ve been told that might be my favorite word. I’m a romance writer, so maybe ‘love’ can be my favorite word. I love that one.

            Claire Collins

            June 8, 2009 at 5:04 am

  2. Now that you’ve gotten me into a philosophical kind of mood…
    I believe that we all use one another all the time. The only difference is intension. If I help a friend move I’m giving myself the gratitude of being a helpful person. Even when it is with pure evil that person A is using person B, person B will fulfill some preconceived notion about who they are, even when it’s negative like a victim or martyr role. In pure love relationships, it’s essentially a using dynamic at work as well. My wife and I are using each other for love, comfort, support, etc, etc. Even if you give a charitable gift anonymously, you derive a sense of self and pleasure from it. Then again this is all semantics and it all boils down to intention!!
    Great blog!
    PS. I know that donkey, and the bastard deserved it!!

    Scott Oglesby

    June 6, 2009 at 10:13 am

  3. Of course!

    The people we normally refer to as useless (the government, meter maids, other bloggers) are not without usefulness. They’re just incompetent enough that they can’t be used properly.

    • Capitalist Lion Tamer, I like your point. I wonder how many people have thought of me as “unable to be properly used”. I’m going to guess 348.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      June 8, 2009 at 4:17 am

  4. ok why 348?

    Claire Collins

    June 8, 2009 at 5:05 am


Leave a Reply

