Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

I’m Tired Of Your Language

with 18 comments

I know that most of you out there in the blogosphere are what I think of as the “big brained”. You all seem educated and polished, witty and well versed.

 

So this probably isn’t a problem for you:

 

Main Entry: feoff·ee

Pronunciation: \fe-ˈfē, fē-ˈfē\

Function: noun

Date: 15th century

: one to whom a feoffment is made

 

When I look at this, my brain can’t even process it. It looks made up to me or like I’m hanging out with a drunken Frenchmen of few words.

 

My third grade English teacher use to always tell me you couldn’t use the word you were trying to define in a sentence, in the sentence.

 

“What does feoffee mean?” “One to whom a feoffment is made.” “Oh, OK, thanks. That really clears things up.”

 

This is why I work the night shift at Burger King.

 

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey thanks for working the night shift at BK. Lots of us stoners are greatly in debt to you!! Cheers and happy 4th!

    wine information

    July 4, 2009 at 7:03 am

    • wine information, don’t mention it. If you knew what I was doing to your Whopper you wouldn’t be so nice… Thanks for commenting and have an explosively awesome 4th!

      Ramblin' Rooster

      July 4, 2009 at 4:36 pm

  2. Burger King? Again with the burger references? You know it is July 4th and I’m definitely without a burger, a hotdog, or even a fucking sparkler. Have you no heart man?
    And stop making fun of my little brain with your big brain and little funny words. I’ll get my cousin to come over with his bigger brain and his bigger funny words and they will beat up your little funny words. And don’t try to bribe me with a feoffment either!!

    Scott Oglesby

    July 4, 2009 at 7:53 am

    • Scott Oglesby, I do not have a heart, only a pulmonary pump. Funny you should mention your cousin; he’s over here right now workin’ the grill. I bet you’d take a feoffment if it had cheese, lettuce, onion, mustard and ketchup on it. Happy 4th in meatless, sparklerless Spain.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      July 4, 2009 at 4:42 pm

  3. Thanks, I woke up, having a nightmare about being suffocated by strawberries which I shook myself from by eating peanut butter and crackers when I awoke. Its 3:31 in the morning and now my brain is so fecked I will never get back to sleep!

    whackadoodle

    July 5, 2009 at 10:33 am

    • whackadoodle, killer avatar. It’s so… whackadoodle. I’m sorry to hear of your food nightmares. My only suggestion is to start a liquid diet.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      July 6, 2009 at 4:14 am

  4. I always HATED when I couldn’t use the word in the definition.

    The biggest question here is:

    Why were you looking up that word anyway? Are you going to be a feoffee or a feoffer?

    Claire Collins

    July 6, 2009 at 1:56 am

    • Claire Collins, honestly it was one of those weird times where I was just reading the dictionary.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      July 6, 2009 at 4:23 am

      • Oh but of course. I do that all the time. Just plop open the old dictionary because I have nothing else to do.

        Claire Collins

        July 6, 2009 at 4:42 am

        • Claire Collins, I spend a lot of time waiting in the emergency room… reading helps pass the time and with the dictionary there’s no need for a bookmark or short-term memory.

          Ramblin' Rooster

          July 6, 2009 at 4:47 am

          • You’re cracking me up. That makes perfect sense given your history with the ER.

            The nurses all know you by name and see you coming.

            “Here comes that Rooster again.”
            “Maybe this time he won’t make it.”
            “I got the barbecue sauce ready.”
            “I prefer buffalo wings and lemon pepper breast.”
            “Why do they keep patching him up?”

            “Have you seen his appendage?”

            Claire Collins

            July 6, 2009 at 5:10 am

            • Claire Collins, in some countries the appendage is considered a true delicacy.

              Ramblin' Rooster

              July 6, 2009 at 5:20 am

              • I’m thinking you wouldn’t stand a chance in Spain.

                Claire Collins

                July 6, 2009 at 5:29 am

                • Claire Collins, I don’t know, I’m pretty fast, faster than the bulls.

                  Ramblin' Rooster

                  July 7, 2009 at 3:25 am

                  • You only have to be faster than anyone who thinks the apendage is a delicacy and any women who want to use it for their own pleasure.

                    Claire Collins

                    July 7, 2009 at 3:45 am

                    • Claire Collins, why would I want to outrun either one of them. There’s enough for everyone.

                      Ramblin' Rooster

                      July 7, 2009 at 4:01 am

  5. It’s funny, I just wrote an entry last night/early morning about what stuff like this does to my sleep. The offending word in this here entry finally got to me the other night. I’d forgotten where I saw it when it tormented me beyond belief and sleep. Instead I chose to lay in bed and hate it instead of getting up, doing some research and moving on. Gaaaahhhh!

    I give you major extra credit for scrambling my brain beyond belief!

    whackadoodle

    July 18, 2009 at 5:30 pm


Leave a Reply

