Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

Delete My Perfect Worthless Picture

with 14 comments

I’ve been spending a lot of time lately hanging out over at the fundamentaljelly site looking at his pictures. (http://fundamentaljelly.com/ as if you didn’t know). It seems like there’s been some kind of birth of inspiration for photography sweeping WordPress lately.

 

I loved photography in my youth. I still remember the first day of class and everyone had to stand up and state why they wanted to learn photography. When it was my turn, I stood up and said, “I want to be a Playboy photographer”. It got some laughs and truth be told I wasn’t serious, even though I’d take that gig in a heartbeat.

 

Once school ended so did my photography stint. I’m not sore about it, just stating fact. Now days there’s probably very little film photographers left. It’s made me sad to lose one thing and that would be the “alien photos”.

 

Seems like no matter what, there was always a crazy, abstract, weirdo photo and the beginning and end of every roll. Sometimes you’d get a couple more at the end. I collected those photos and use to take the ones that people threw away when they got they’re pictures back from the “fotohut”.

 

I had a real appreciation for these photographs. I thought they were awesome and unique, even the ones with the distorted finger that turned out to be grandma holding the camera like a hungry bear. I always thought they were interesting in composition.

 

Those are all gone now too. With the dominance of the digital camera, the ease of deleting unwanted pictures is a mere click away. No reason to keep those pesky, one-of-a-kind, pictures on your card.

 

It’s too bad.

 

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Saddening isn’t it? I’m right there with you=/

    luke

    luke

    July 15, 2009 at 4:57 am

    • Luke, welcome to the the roost. It really is sad. I appreciate your camaraderie. Thanks for commenting.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      July 16, 2009 at 3:12 am

  2. You’re right, the messed up ones are the best! Same with people, really!

    Scott Oglesby

    July 15, 2009 at 6:17 am

    • Scott Oglesby, messed up people are the coolest, but not as colorful and much more difficult to get into the album.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      July 16, 2009 at 3:15 am

      • That’s why, “It puts the lotion on the skin.” so much easier to stretch!

        Scott Oglesby

        July 16, 2009 at 6:55 am

        • Scott Oglesby, ironically people tell me I look like the actor Buffalo Bill from ‘Silence of the Lambs’.

          Ramblin' Rooster

          July 17, 2009 at 3:47 am

  3. It’s totally too bad. I love snapshots. Thanks for the hat tip RR…Egg on!!

    fundamentaljelly

    July 15, 2009 at 8:21 am

  4. I actually keep those pictures. I download them and save them on my computer. I also let the kids use my camera and take pictures so I can see things from their perspective. I learned that my daughter had a great eye for photos at the age of 4.

    Claire Collins

    July 16, 2009 at 5:02 am

    • Claire Collins, that’s cool. I learned that my thirteen year old shouldn’t be allowed to have a camera by the public pool.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      July 17, 2009 at 3:44 am

  5. Aha. Yes I learned that my son at 13 shouldn’t have had his phone near the pool either.

    Did yours take interesting pictures or did they all just come up wet?

    Claire Collins

    July 17, 2009 at 3:54 am

    • Claire Collins, that’s a relative question. Do you pictures of butts interest you? I liked the ones, (that I’m guessing were taken pool side right after the subject jumped in) of nothing but a splash. Timing is everything!

      Ramblin' Rooster

      July 17, 2009 at 4:41 am

  6. I’ve got nothing…

    Still laughing at “just grandma holding the camera like a hungry bear…”

    Um, you’re not thinking of packing it all in, are you?

    😉

    Capitalist Lion Tamer

    July 18, 2009 at 3:06 pm


Leave a Reply

