Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

What I Learned Along The Way

with 26 comments

I once said the quickest way to destroy the feeling of being original and creative is to try and register a domain name. Bluebear.com – taken! ieatvomitalldaylong.com – taken! Stickknivesinmyanus.com – taken! Ffrt756sdexc.com – taken? It’s no joke, there’s nothing left.

 

I won’t lie to you. I’ve spent a lot of time alone on the farm. Spending my days wandering the pasture and raising havoc in the hen house, taunting the bulls and shootin’ the shit with the pigs, (both literally and metaphorically) I’ve wasted a lot of time doing a whole lot of nothing. You know you’ve hit bottom when you actually hug a tree.

 

Isolation does one of two things. Makes you crazy or makes you delusional. When you spend most of time bouncing ideas off the back of your skull, you start to think of things in ways that don’t necessarily make sense to anyone but you. You forget that a cynical attitude can be nothing more than a defensive mechanism to fend off the idea that there actually is a great big wide world out there and not all of them want to stab you with a fork.

 

I have absolutely been amazed by the talent that swarms around the internet. Before I started all this I didn’t even know what a blog was. From what little information I had about it, I formed the idea it was nothing more than people blowing off steam or spouting off nonsense about their “mother-in-law that won’t get the hint”. You know, like a cross country Greyhound trip, information forced upon you that made suicide seem fun and exciting.

 

Truth be told, I’ve really enjoyed reading the blogs and comments of those who have chosen to share and those whose talent has captured my fancy. I never thought my contempt for humanity and their futile, pointless and unimaginative points of view would actually be something I found myself caught up in reading and following. Looking forward to reading something on the internet to me would be like Alan asking out Carlita, or Scott living in America, or CLT not rocking out, or pochp lost behind a computer, or fundamentaljelly without a camera, or Claire making it through the day without drinking a fifth of whiskey… in other words, something that could never happen.

 

What a pleasant surprise.

 

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

26 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I still remember where I was when I first found your blog.

    I was here.

    Ha.

    And, man was I impressed. That’s why I’ve been back ever since.

    If I may… Egg On!

    alantru

    July 17, 2009 at 5:47 am

  2. Domain names and company names! Mainly marketing agency names … every name I think of or try to register has been taken by one marketing agency, communications consultancy or another. I hugged a tree in Helsinki once. It was cold! 🙂

    wearewooing

    July 17, 2009 at 9:50 am

    • wearewooing, you must have wooed that tree. I bet it was warm after that hug. Thanks for commenting and damn those agencies!

      Ramblin' Rooster

      July 18, 2009 at 3:05 am

  3. Whew, I’m so glad that you agreed to the once a week blog thing. I didn’t want to have to do the whole horse head in the bed routine.
    I gotta say that you have a very unique and cocksure voice that must be heard, first thing in the morning. I make my coffee, turn on the computer, and with five minutes I have egg on my face! You can’t screw up a beautiful routine like that!
    Thanks for all the compliments!

    Scott Oglesby

    July 17, 2009 at 11:16 am

    • Scott Oglesby, I never agreed to blog once a week. Why would I want to ruin my chances of getting a free horse head? You know how hard those things are to chase down? They have like four legs…

      Ramblin' Rooster

      July 18, 2009 at 3:06 am

    • You wake up with egg on your face and I go to bed with.. okay, no matter what I say, it isn’t going to sound right.

      Claire Collins

      July 18, 2009 at 3:43 am

      • Claire Collins, nothing ever sounds right in the roost.

        Ramblin' Rooster

        July 18, 2009 at 4:06 am

        • It’s fun hanging out in your roost. I’ve spent every night here for a long time

          Claire Collins

          July 18, 2009 at 4:23 am

          • Claire Collins, it was a lot of fun. You were the most faithful reader. You receive the lifetime achievement award.

            Ramblin' Rooster

            July 20, 2009 at 2:47 am

            • Lifetime acheivement, best pun and creepiest comment.

              See, I think you left because your wife figured out we hung out here together every night.

              Claire Collins

              July 20, 2009 at 3:41 am

  4. Hilarious RR, have you tried clownpenis.com

    I dropped your egg on my blogroll, if you’re cool with that.

    fundamentaljelly

    July 17, 2009 at 10:13 pm

    • fundamentaljelly, what a weird site. I ordered some pills and got my retirement funds all lined out. Thanks for the tip… whoa, that sounds bad… I’m honored to have been added to your blogroll!

      Ramblin' Rooster

      July 18, 2009 at 3:09 am

  5. 😦

    Really? This is it?

    No more arguing with me? No more rooster/egg/chicken jokes?
    No more shocking me with your posts or comments?

    I guess that’s the way the egg rolls…

    I need a drink.

    Claire Collins

    July 18, 2009 at 3:45 am

    • Claire Collins, the way the egg rolls, what an awesome way to wrap this up! Here’s to you Claire. Cheers!
      I left off with “The End” question mark, who knows what the future brings…

      Ramblin' Rooster

      July 18, 2009 at 4:06 am

  6. I noticed that.. made me hopeful.

    Claire Collins

    July 18, 2009 at 4:24 am

  7. Seeing as I’ve been gone for about a week and read your last post first, there may be some residual something-that-the-french-have-a-word-for left over in my remaining comments as I try to play catchup.

    If nothing else, I will continue rocking out forever… forever… forever…

    It certainly worked for Homer Simpson.

    Enjoy your watermelon, Rooster. You’ve certainly earned it.

    Capitalist Lion Tamer

    July 18, 2009 at 2:58 pm


Leave a Reply

