Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

At The Awards Ceremony – The Return of the Roost

with 22 comments

“Every time I try to get out, they pull me back in.”

 

“I can’t quit you babe, but I’m gonna half to put you down for a little while.”

 

And the award for most pathetic attempt to walk away from a blog goes to…

 

(drum roll)

 

Ramblin’ Rooster!

 

Thank you, thank you, what can I say? I’ve trained hard for this my whole life. It started with high school and then that job at Burger Hut and now my blog. What can I say, I like to quit, and I’m a quitter.

 

(INTERLUDE)

Ramblin’ Rooster is fast asleep in his nest, when sudden a blue fairy appears.

 

Blue Fairy: Ramblin’… oh Ramblin’… Ramblin’! Hey, wake up!!!

Ramblin’: What? Who is it?

Blue Fairy: It is I, your Blue Fairy.

Ramblin’: Blue Fairy? WTF?

Blue Fairy: What your dirty mouth or you’ll lose your beak.

Ramblin’: Sorry.

Blue Fairy: Oh Ramblin’ don’t quit your blog. Look how sad you made those four people. You need to find the courage and go see the Wizard of Oz. and then you’ll be…

Ramblin’: Hold up a minute there Fairy, I think you’re crossing your stories there.

Blue Fairy: Well then, as Pink says, the show must go on.

(END INTERLUDE)

 

Hi, I’m Ramblin’ Rooster and I quit my blog. Then a couple of my cohorts said, “You suck!” Well, that really touched a nerve and once I had it removed I decided that I should be there for my adoring fans.

 

SO, I’ve decided to give it the ol’ Farmer Brown heave-ho.

 

I hope you’ll join me every Sunday night for my new weekly blog.

 

Same ol’ Rooster, totally different time.

 

Egg ON!

Ramblin’ Rooster

22 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I missed you while you were gone. Welcome back!

    Claire Collins

    July 21, 2009 at 5:58 am

  2. Well I for one am vastly relieved! That was funny about the four adoring fans, I think that sometimes also. Then I realize that if four people comment and express their adoration, there must be hundreds, thousands even, who are simply too shy to say anything. Sure ours stats can say anywhere between 50 and a couple hundred viewed on any given day, but what they do is they copy and paste the entire blog and network it around the internet. Between us I’ll bet that we have more fans than Brad Pitt, Dean Koontz, and Elton John combined! The couple days that you were off the national suicide rate skyrocketed. Now it’ll drop back to normal!

    I’m very happy that you have decided to continue your secret pop culture domination! Sunday is really a funday again!!!

    Scott Oglesby

    July 21, 2009 at 5:59 am

    • Scott Oglesby, your words are too kind. I like the line,”secret pop culture domination”. It makes me think of butter popcorn. I was even thinking of having Sunday be a blog and a riddle, (just for you). Thanks for the flavor.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      July 22, 2009 at 3:03 am

  3. Welcome back to the maze of twisty passages, all alike.

    Speaking of suicide, that may be the only way out, what with your persistent and needy fans. I wouldn’t recommend it.

    I can soundtrack it:
    http://capitalistliontamer.wordpress.com/2009/02/06/taking-the-easy-way-out-10-songs-for-your-suicide-soundtrack/

    but I can’t recommend it.

    Seriously, RR. Welcome back!

    Capitalist Lion Tamer

    July 22, 2009 at 12:56 am

    • Capitalist Lion Tamer, those look like some good choices. I am quite the fan of Radiohead, but I think if I was going to check out it’d have to be Suicide is Painless (Mash Theme Song) by Mike Altman and Johnny Mandel, (Howie’s uncle). It’s trite I know, but it seems so fitting. Thanks for the hearty, warm welcome back.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      July 22, 2009 at 3:07 am

  4. Yes!

    Now we dance!

    alantru

    July 22, 2009 at 2:54 am

  5. Now we blog! Glad you decided to step back from the edge.

    fundamentaljelly

    July 22, 2009 at 7:40 am

  6. Ummm.. hey?

    It’s like.. Sunday.. ya know…

    well… I’m waiting.

    Just thought.. like you’d.. want to know or… somethin’

    Claire Collins

    July 27, 2009 at 2:51 am

    • Claire Collins, I’m sorry. Bit of a night owl.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      July 27, 2009 at 2:54 am

      • Ha! You showed up a whole two minutes after me. That’s timing. What kind of a rooster is a night owl? Doesn’t that make it hard to be up crowing in the morning? I guess when they talk about the early bird getting the worm, they aren’t talking about you are they?

        Claire Collins

        July 27, 2009 at 3:21 am

        • Claire Collins, you have it all wrong. It’s a third shift job. After crowing, it’s off to bed, then up by happy hour, cruise the yard for chicks, chit-chat with Claire and the boys, sun-up and crow then start all over again.

          Ramblin' Rooster

          July 27, 2009 at 4:07 am

          • Ohhh I see. I guess that’s why we’re on the same schedule. Except I get up with the sun, go work all day, come home and be the house slave.. I mean “mom”, come online to harrass you and the boys.. I mean “blog”, then I fall into bed about midnight.

            Claire Collins

            July 27, 2009 at 5:23 am


Leave a Reply

