Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

I Hate You, but Please Don’t Hate Me Back

with 14 comments

Humans, they’re weird and by weird, I mean they don’t make sense. The ego is not a hidden beast waiting in the shadows to pounce on your subconscious while you sleep. It is the scream of the wild, the elusive desire to kill, the wish of power that rings in your ears as you taste blood. What?

 

Make no mistake; in this life we’ve all had a fair amount of relationships. Be them platonic, be them romantic or be them somewhere in between leaving each person confused and slightly damaged.

 

I have had people come and go quite a bit in my life. (Is it me?) I have never had a reservation letting someone know that I didn’t/don’t like them. I’ve never felt bad for not liking someone or thinking badly or lowly of them. I’ve never thought it was wrong to dislike another person. “You can’t please all the people all the time and not everyone responds the same way to verbal violence.”

 

Now, when the news comes to me that someone whom I liked or revered as a friend utters words of discontent or rather strong language like, “You’re corrosive to life” or “The putrescence and squalor is revolting and poisoning” or “When I said I’ll see you later I meant like five, ten, fifteen years later… maybe never.” It hurts.

 

I want to feel free to hate whomever I choose, but be loved by all. Is that really too much to ask? It’s not like I want to be president or something.

 

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

 

 

—Riddle Me Rooster—

 

The answer to last weeks riddle was “One Cent”

CLT mentioned scent, but locked in with Cheetah, which spelled backwards is Hateehc, translated from Blovokian means, “the green smell” which is close enough. Congratulations CLT, you win a life supply of ‘Handy Bags’.

 

Tonight’s riddle:

 

Why did King Kong climb to the top of the Empire State Building?

 

Submit you’re answer as a comment for the chance to win fabulous make-believe prizes and come back next Sunday for the answer. Good luck!

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Haha,

    It’s not too much to ask. It’s just too much to expect.

    King Kong climbed to the top of the Empire so he could not hear Fay Wray say, “Da plans, da planes, here come da planes, boss.”

    alantru

    September 28, 2009 at 11:43 pm

  2. There are a few really powerful quotes in the body of your work Rooster. Especially, “The putrescence and squalor is revolting and poisoning” Very well said.

    I’ve always taken a sick kind of pleasure in my hate. Wait, that sounds like Bright Eyes lyrics. I mostly hate anonymous people though. I hate the people who listen to the radio or TV and blindly believe what they hear like sheep. Although I also admit to hating the propagandists of such nonsense as well, be they on the right or the left. I really fucking hate stupid people.

    But alas and egad, I too would like to be adored by all.

    Because he was really, really horny and whatshername was at the top? I may be back with a better answer.

    Scott Oglesby

    September 29, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    • Scott Oglesby, stupid people are annoying, don’t get me wrong, but I hate smart people even more for making me feel stupid, thus being hated by my friends. Your answer is awesome as well. If I didn’t know better I’d think you and Alan were bellied up to the bar have a heyday.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      October 5, 2009 at 2:52 am

  3. Wow I hope I’m on the like list and not the dislike list. I think your dislike list is probably long and involved and I just don’t have time for that kind of relationship. It’s a lot of work to fight being disliked.

    I like you 🙂

    As for the riddle. Why did he climb to the top of the enpire state bulding.

    1) Because he wouldn’t fit in the elevator.
    2) It was a dare.
    3) He thought the blonde would shut the hell up at high altitudes
    4) It was the closest thing to a tree he could find in the city
    5) The movie producer made him.
    6) Where else would an enormous monkey go?
    7) A gigantic dog was already humping the statue of liberty.

    Claire Collins

    October 4, 2009 at 6:43 am

    • Claire Collins, what’s this absurd notion of me being a “hater”? I’ve got nothing but love in my pocket to spread all over the place and everybody! Perish such thoughts of hating and shame on you for assuming such nasty things. I like you too, despite the spit I just wiped from my face. Your answers are awesome too, too! Now I see Alan, Scott drinking beers at a table and you doin’ shots.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      October 5, 2009 at 2:57 am

      • Hmm I’m not sure where I got the idea you hated me.

        *glances to the top of the page where it says “I hate you”*

        What’s with spitting at me anyway? If this is how you show you like me then I’m doubly glad I’m not on the dislike list.

        With this kind of love, I need those shots.

        Claire Collins

        October 5, 2009 at 5:10 am

        • Claire Collins, I wasn’t talking to you when I said “I hate you” I was talking as someone else talking to me. Now that our heads are spinning can’t we just agree to leave hate at the door?

          Ramblin' Rooster

          October 12, 2009 at 3:46 am

          • I like that idea although I forgot to bring hate with me so I can’t leave it at the door. He’s home in a pissy mood because I told him he couldn’t come see you. I’m sure I will hear nothing but hateful comments when I get back home. but for now I’m here and there’s no hate.

            Claire Collins

            October 12, 2009 at 5:01 am

  4. Well, I’ll tell you one thing: it feels great to win using somebody else’s answer. Thanks, Claire!

    I hear you lound and clear on the love/hate issue. It’s called a double-standard and we’d all love to live by it. Some do it better than others. Far left weirdos, die hard Christians, politicians, assholes…

    As for King Kong…
    He was trying to raise his spirits?

    That is just a godawful answer. Whatever pun is tied to this answer, I would almost prefer the non-sequiter answers of classic Ramblin’ Rooster.

    I’m going to try again…

    Because if he could make there, he could make it anywhere…

    I’m aghast at my own answers.

    You’ve got me stumped.

    Capitalist Lion Tamer

    October 5, 2009 at 2:26 am

    • Capital Lion Tamer, is it still a double-standard if you don’t have any standards? As for your answer, you must be in the bathroom at the Alan-Scott-Claire party. Here’s a hint… Claire, answer #1.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      October 5, 2009 at 2:59 am

      • You’re welcome CLT.

        Hey Rooster, I can’t put my finger on it.
        *glances up again*

        but I think CLT is cheatah-ing off me?

        Claire Collins

        October 5, 2009 at 5:15 am

        • Claire Collins, CLT is not cheating for there are no formal rules. I will say that he likes answering riddles a week late…

          Ramblin' Rooster

          October 12, 2009 at 3:47 am


Leave a Reply

