Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

The Blues

with 24 comments

kregbluz

Why I hate the blues...

I’ve always hated the blues, or at least any blues music produced after 1962. I never liked “slow hand” and if I have to sit through another open jam night at the local cracker-club, listening to “aircraft plant welders by day” and “drunken blues murderers on the weekend” crank out hours or standard, three chord progressions, I’ll never listen to music again.

 

That’s really my biggest problem with the blues, white people. I’m not saying that white people don’t have or face some difficult times in their lives, but they have never experienced anything to sing the blues about. At least not in the way the pioneers of blues did.

 

Perhaps I shouldn’t compare the two. Perhaps I shouldn’t attend “blues night” at the cracker barrel. Perhaps I just hate blues music. Perhaps my mother didn’t love me and I’m frustrated because I can’t grab a guitar and belt out the blues the way the forefathers of the craft did. Perhaps I overuse rhetorical questions.

 

 

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster

 

 

—Riddle Me Rooster—

 

The answer to last weeks riddle was “The horse’s name was Friday”. Scott, (and amazingly CLT) nailed it, but Fundamentaljelly’s answer can’t be ignored. Therefore it’s a three-way tie. The lucky winners receive twelve day passes to the ‘Honkey Blues Festival’ in lovely Fayetteville, Arkansas.

 

 

Tonight’s riddle:

 

What’s glass, brass and kicks your ass?

 

Submit you’re answer as a comment for the chance to win fabulous make-believe prizes and come back next Sunday for the answer. Good luck!

24 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ha! I’ve reclaimed my rightful place as first in line. Whew. As for the blues.. perhaps you can kiss my white ass. I could sing some blues. Reds and purples too. Try me.

    And I’ve lost every riddle for weeks now. I’m gonna win this one.

    The answer is… um

    uh

    hmmm
    glass.

    brass,

    and kicks ass. Of course it’s.. ah.. uh.

    I’ll be back.

    Claire Collins

    November 18, 2009 at 6:05 am

    • Claire Collins, please send me your demo album, oh wait, better yet send it to CLT so he can post it for everyones enjoyment!

      Ramblin' Rooster

      November 23, 2009 at 3:50 am

      • Don’t I get enough public humiliation?

        Claire Collins

        November 23, 2009 at 5:14 am

        • Claire Collins, I don’t know. How much public humiliation do you get?

          Ramblin' Rooster

          November 23, 2009 at 5:19 am

          • I’m here aren’t I?

            Claire Collins

            November 23, 2009 at 5:23 am

            • Claire Collins, I was hoping for a number or percentage.

              Ramblin' Rooster

              November 23, 2009 at 5:42 am

              • I tend to embarrass myself a lot. I think it’s part of my charm. If I can’t laugh at me, no one will. Hmm and why do I want people to laugh at me?

                damn. Ok how about 60? but I don’t know if that’s a percentage or a number. I mean obviously it’s a number and there’s no percentage sign after it so I guess it doesn’t qualify as a percentage does it? I did mention my brain’s numb didn’t I?

                Claire Collins

                November 23, 2009 at 5:50 am

                • Claire Collins, a lot of people connecting laughing with acceptance, friendship and having fun. 60% of your brain is numb?

                  Ramblin' Rooster

                  November 23, 2009 at 5:55 am

                  • Honey, I think it’s a lot more than that!

                    Claire Collins

                    November 23, 2009 at 5:56 am

                    • Claire Collins, as grandpa use to say, “Even if it’s numb it can still be fun”.

                      Ramblin' Rooster

                      November 23, 2009 at 6:02 am

                    • Im afraid to know in what circumstance your grandpa used to say that

                      Claire Collins

                      December 6, 2009 at 12:47 am

                    • Claire Collins, the worst kind I’m afraid…

                      Ramblin' Rooster

                      December 7, 2009 at 1:24 am

                    • If it’s numb is it still fun?

                      Claire Collins

                      December 10, 2009 at 5:37 am

                    • Claire Collins, sometimes being numb really helps. Sometimes it’s the only way to get through it.

                      Ramblin' Rooster

                      December 14, 2009 at 4:16 am

                    • Wow. I’m not sure you’re doing it right then?

                      Claire Collins

                      December 14, 2009 at 4:53 am

                    • Claire Collins, is there a right way?

                      Ramblin' Rooster

                      December 14, 2009 at 4:58 am

                    • There are tons of right ways, and apparently, there’s a wrong way too.

                      Claire Collins

                      December 14, 2009 at 5:26 am

                    • Claire Collins, meeeeow! High and mighty is singin’ the right-way blues tonight! I guess I’ve just always done things the wrong way.

                      Ramblin' Rooster

                      December 14, 2009 at 5:43 am

  2. Funny RR, truth be told, I can’t stand Jazz. After 5 minutes of listening to jazz, I want to go crank-up the leaf blower. I am a blank on the riddle, maybe I’ll work on it.

    fundamentaljelly

    November 20, 2009 at 4:16 am

    • fundamentaljelly, have you ever tried to sing to a leaf blower? It’s pretty fun. No need to work on it, it’s just a stupid riddle for fake prizes.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      November 23, 2009 at 3:51 am

  3. Is that you with a harmonica? I have a slight feeling it could be.

    I like the old blues. I went to an old school (meaning all black. And old) blues club in Chicago that blew (get it?) my doors off. Add I like some of the bluesy shit that Elvis did. Thankfully, I’ve never heard anybody else white attempt it. If you have the opportunity to go to a blues night at the Cracker Barrel, please go. And please take copious notes, pictures and video. You’d never, ever be at a loss for blog material again.

    As for the riddle; short of making up an uncle who is a retired Marine Colonel with a glass eye who used to beat me for the joy of it, I don’t have a good answer. I’ll think on it and maybe come back. If not I have this uncle…….

    Scott Oglesby

    November 21, 2009 at 5:02 pm

    • Scott Oglesby, I’m sorry to disappoint, but that is not me on the harp. The show at Cracker Barrel was awesome and free biscuits were served with sawmill gravy. I will log the uncle answer.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      November 23, 2009 at 3:53 am

  4. You raise a lot of purposefully unanswerable questions, RR.

    Like, why is the blues? Or, if I were a Rolling Stone, which tree would I shag?

    The blues belong to the people, if that answers your question. Anyone can sing the blues, but those who sing about their inability to get a co-signer on the boat loan or that guy in third period who won’t acknowledge their existence are always going to be looked down upon by those who were born broke and spent a lot of time in jail for murdering their cheating girlfriends/wives. (This is why OJ cannot sing the blues; no jail time for murder.)

    As to the riddle: I’m going with bong. All the ingredients are there: glass, brass, and with the right “tobacco” product, ass-kicking.

    Capitalist Lion Tamer

    November 23, 2009 at 2:51 am

    • Capitalist Lion Tamer, I knew if anyone could set me straight it’d be you. Glass bong? That’s so ’94. These days it polyethylene pipe or nothing.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      November 23, 2009 at 3:56 am


Leave a Reply

