Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

Country Gravy

with 10 comments

On an impulse buy I bought eleven pounds of sausage.

After weeks of making every dish I could think of that called for the deliciousness of pork product, (and some that did not) I got down to “just a little left”.

I awoke this morning and decided to make my favorite breakfast of all time, biscuits and gravy.

I opened the cupboard and found a package of gravy mix. Much to my surprise the “powder” had expired just shy of seven years prior. “Oh well,” I thought, “going to store is out of the question. That would require wearing pants!”

When I awoke in the hospital bed a nurse asked me, “How are you feeling?”

To which I replied, (in song):

If I cared where I was going

Then I’d care when I arrived

If when I got there was important

Then I’d take over and drive

If all the people passing me really did matter

Then I wouldn’t have eaten seven year old spice and flour

Egg On,

Ramblin’ Rooster

-Ramble me Rooster-

The answer to last week’s riddle was, “because they’re too tired, (or two tired)” which grasps desperately at the pun of two tires. The triumphant return of Claire, (or Tracy) yields a strong play for domination, but alas she must share her winnings with CLT and Scott. Please enjoy your own package of severely expired country gravy mix!

Tonight’s riddle:

What black and white and black and white and black and white and black and white…?

Submit you’re answer as a comment for the chance to win fabulous make-believe prizes and come back next Sunday for the answer. Good luck!

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good gravy!

    Now that I’ve gotten that out of the way… I know the feeling. The store’s so far away, requires pants and may not even be open at this hour. So you stay home and eat expired gravy or make a sandwich using only condiments or pour eggnog over your cereal.

    They tried so hard to make grocery delivery feasible, but I’m sure after the fifteenth time of being greeted by a pantless man all cracked out on expired food products, the delivery people all quit and became daytraders or something.

    As for the riddle:
    An old 19-inch Magnavox with a broken vertical hold.

    Capitalist Lion Tamer

    March 14, 2010 at 4:37 am

    • Capitalist Lion Tamer, the Fancy Plans HQ must be in downtown Fancy Town… delivery?!?! Where I live the only thing they deliver is babies and that’s in the bathtub. As for the riddle, nothing gets by you.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      March 15, 2010 at 3:02 am

  2. G.I. tract poems are always the best.

    Riddle? A nun doing a McTwist 720. But watch out for the Swiss judge.

    Fundamental Jelly

    March 14, 2010 at 9:27 am

    • Fundamental Jelly, I only do the best. What’s up with the Swiss judge? Do I sense a hot tub party?

      Ramblin' Rooster

      March 15, 2010 at 3:04 am

  3. I’m really slacking as a blogger lately. Am I too late to play along this week? The only thing I see that’s black and white and black and white is CLT.

    Just so everyone knows… I’m still dominant. CLT and Scott were copycats!

    Black and white and black and white and black and white

    A skunk and her three babies

    A tire that ran through white paint

    A tire that ran over the skunk and her babies before it ran through white paint?

    CLT after running through white paint?

    CLT after running through a skunk, her three babies, and white paint?

    A newspaper?

    A Newspaper reporting that CLT was run over after a crazy redheaded driver (who shall remain nameless) ran him over on the way to run through a puddle of white paint, and ran over a skunk and her babies, all while she (or he) laughed maniacally?

    Claire Collins

    March 15, 2010 at 3:23 am

    • Claire Collins, you’re a fine blogger, don’t beat yourself up… it’s never too late to play along. A crazy redhead driver who’s nameless or possesses two many names to list in one article? All wonderful guesses.

      Ramblin' Rooster

      March 15, 2010 at 3:27 am

      • At least I have a name.. or two.. unlike a certain Rooster who shall be nameless… only because he truly insists on that.

        Claire Collins

        March 15, 2010 at 3:30 am

  4. Good gravy CHarlie Brown! My riddle answer is a penguin rolling on X…or rolling down a hill. There no cheating in riddles!

    Scott Oglesby

    March 15, 2010 at 8:41 am

    • Scott Oglesby, you’re answer is so close to be right, it can’t be wrong. That’s so true… riddles spelled backwards is chaos! Bring the anarchy!

      Ramblin' Rooster

      March 22, 2010 at 1:57 am


Leave a Reply

