Sunday's drive up your blog… with Ramblin' Rooster

The official blog of RoosterEgg.com

Archive for July 15th, 2009

Delete My Perfect Worthless Picture

with 14 comments

I’ve been spending a lot of time lately hanging out over at the fundamentaljelly site looking at his pictures. (http://fundamentaljelly.com/ as if you didn’t know). It seems like there’s been some kind of birth of inspiration for photography sweeping WordPress lately.

 

I loved photography in my youth. I still remember the first day of class and everyone had to stand up and state why they wanted to learn photography. When it was my turn, I stood up and said, “I want to be a Playboy photographer”. It got some laughs and truth be told I wasn’t serious, even though I’d take that gig in a heartbeat.

 

Once school ended so did my photography stint. I’m not sore about it, just stating fact. Now days there’s probably very little film photographers left. It’s made me sad to lose one thing and that would be the “alien photos”.

 

Seems like no matter what, there was always a crazy, abstract, weirdo photo and the beginning and end of every roll. Sometimes you’d get a couple more at the end. I collected those photos and use to take the ones that people threw away when they got they’re pictures back from the “fotohut”.

 

I had a real appreciation for these photographs. I thought they were awesome and unique, even the ones with the distorted finger that turned out to be grandma holding the camera like a hungry bear. I always thought they were interesting in composition.

 

Those are all gone now too. With the dominance of the digital camera, the ease of deleting unwanted pictures is a mere click away. No reason to keep those pesky, one-of-a-kind, pictures on your card.

 

It’s too bad.

 

Egg On!

Ramblin’ Rooster